Wyoming Solar License Requirements (2026)
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04
Wyoming does not issue a standalone solar-PV contractor license. Solar-PV installation is electrical work: the State requires electrical equipment to be installed by a licensed electrical contractor using licensed master or journeyman electricians, or registered apprentices under the required supervision, unless a statutory exception applies. A business contracting for that work needs a Wyoming Electrical Contractor license and must actively employ a full-time Wyoming Master Electrician of Record. The State credential does not replace local project permits, utility interconnection approval, or any municipal business requirements.
Regulatory Body
Authority over this credential rests with Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety (DFPES), which issues and polices it under Wyo. Stat. §§ 35-9-120 through 35-9-130. DFPES licenses electrical contractors and individual electricians, issues wiring permits, and administers the State electrical-licensing requirements.
- Official portal: https://wsfm.wyo.gov/electrical-safety/licensing
Eligibility Requirements
This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Applicants must provide a Social Security Number. The electrical-contractor license is issued for each firm. The statute does not state a residency condition, but the firm must meet the current DFPES application requirements and designate a qualifying Wyoming Master Electrician of Record.
Good moral character
The Chief Electrical Inspector evaluates the fitness and qualifications of electrical-license applicants under the electrical-licensing statutes.
Background investigation
Use the current DFPES application for any required disclosures; the statute does not state a separate solar-PV fingerprint requirement.
Experience and Education
The sources cited here stop short of naming a year requirement; the operative standard is The contractor business does not have to make its owner personally qualify as a master electrician, but it must actively employ a full-time Wyoming Master Electrician of Record. The Department states that a Master examination applicant documents 16,000 hours (eight years) in the electrical-wiring industry, including 8,000 hours as a licensed journeyman, plus 576 hours of approved classroom instruction..
Accepted proof of experience or eligibility
- DFPES Electrical Contractor application
- Master of Record acknowledgment
- Personnel of Applicant form
- For a new Master: DFPES work-verification and approved classroom documentation
Education substitution
For the Master path, DFPES describes an education exemption only as provided in its current licensing instructions; verify the current rule and application before relying on an exemption.
Exam Requirements
No written state trade examination is mandated for this credential in the cited materials. Instead, the operative process is: Wyoming DFPES licensing process or its current designated testing service
Examination fee: The Electrical Contractor license is $400 for a new license or renewal. A Master applicant has separate examination and individual-license costs; confirm those current charges with DFPES.
Retake policy: Follow the current DFPES Master Electrician examination instructions. Do not treat an individual Master examination as a separate solar-contractor test.
Insurance and Bonds
No license surety bond is mandated statewide here under the cited sources, though project-specific or public-works bonding obligations can still attach to a given job.
General liability
The DFPES Electrical Contractor licensing page does not state a fixed statewide general-liability or contractor-bond amount. A municipality, project owner, lender, or utility may require insurance separately.
Workers' compensation
Construction is an extrahazardous employment under the Wyoming Worker’s Compensation Act. A business subject to the Act must obtain Wyoming coverage before beginning work; confirm coverage, exemptions, and nonresident-employer requirements with the Wyoming Workers’ Compensation Division.
Additional financial requirements
No statewide financial-statement requirement is stated on the DFPES Electrical Contractor licensing page.
Fee Schedule
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application (non-refundable) | $400 |
| Initial license | No separate state fee |
| Renewal (every year) | $400 |
To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Wyoming solar.
Renewal and Continuing Education
The Wyoming Electrical Contractor License for Solar-PV Installation runs on a year renewal cycle. The current renewal fee is $400. All Electrical Contractor licenses expire July 1 following issuance. Renew on time and keep the Master of Record relationship current.
Continuing education: DFPES states continuing education for individual Master Electrician renewal (16 hours in the three-year cycle, including code instruction). It does not state a separate contractor-license CE-hour requirement on the Electrical Contractor page.
Reciprocity
For this classification, Wyoming does not recognize the NASCLA Accredited Examination.
| Reciprocal State | Accepted Exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified. | ||
The contractor license requires a Wyoming Master Electrician of Record. Wyoming law permits reciprocal agreements for individual electrical licenses, but the current DFPES process—not this solar guide—controls whether a specific Master credential can be reciprocated. No contractor-license reciprocity is identified here.
Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares Solar license requirements in every state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.
Solar Licensing in Neighboring States
Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Wyoming's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:
- Colorado Solar License Requirements — Colorado Solar PV — Electrical Contractor or Photovoltaic Installer Framework
- Idaho Solar License Requirements — Idaho Limited Electrical Contractor — Solar Photovoltaic
- Montana Solar License Requirements — Montana Solar Contractor Requirements — Electrical, Construction and Permit Guide
- Nebraska Solar License Requirements — Nebraska Solar PV — Electrical Licensing, Contractor Registration, and Interconnection
- South Dakota Solar License Requirements — South Dakota Electrical Contractor License for Solar-PV Work
- Utah Solar License Requirements — Utah S202 Solar Photovoltaic Contractor — Specialty Contractor Path
Step-by-Step Application Roadmap
- Confirm that the work is in the electrical scope. Solar-PV wiring and electrical equipment are subject to Wyoming electrical licensing, code, and permit requirements.
- Secure a Wyoming Master Electrician of Record. The contractor must actively employ the Master in a full-time capacity; a Master of Record may serve only one company.
- Assemble the contractor application. Use DFPES’s current Electrical Contractor application, Master of Record acknowledgment, and personnel form.
- Apply and pay the $400 contractor fee. The DFPES lists $400 for a new Electrical Contractor license and for renewal.
- Use properly licensed electrical workers. Use licensed master or journeyman electricians, or registered apprentices under the required supervision, for covered installation work.
- Obtain project permits and inspections. Use the State wiring-permit process and confirm whether the local authority has additional building, zoning, or permit requirements.
- Complete utility interconnection. Interconnection approval is separate from the State contractor license.
- Renew annually by July 1. The Electrical Contractor license expires July 1 following issuance. Keep the Master of Record relationship current.
Application Checklist
Before submitting to DFPES, the applicant should have each of the following ready:
Progress is saved in this browser, so you can return to this checklist while your application is in flight.
Common Filing Mistakes
The errors below are the ones that most frequently cost Wyoming Solar applicants time, drawn from the cited board guidance.
Calling the credential a solar license
The State license is the Electrical Contractor license; solar-PV is handled as electrical work.
Using a Master of Record for more than one company
The statute and DFPES licensing instructions limit a Master of Record to one contractor.
Assuming a Master’s three-year renewal is the contractor cycle
The contractor license renews annually and expires July 1 following issuance; the individual Master credential has its own cycle and CE requirements.
Skipping State wiring permits or local approvals
The contractor license does not itself authorize a project to proceed without the required permits, inspections, interconnection approval, or local review.
Treating NABCEP as a State prerequisite
DFPES does not list NABCEP in the Electrical Contractor requirements. Check voluntary-program or project requirements separately.
Study and Reference Materials
The following references are cited by the regulator, used in the application process, or commonly used to prepare for the trade scope. Listed for reader convenience; CLR receives no compensation for these recommendations.
- Wyoming electrical licensing statutes — Wyoming Legislature. Electrical contractor, Master of Record, worker, and expiration requirements.
- DFPES Electrical Licensing page and current forms — Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety. Current fees, Master-of-Record documents, and individual licensing instructions.
- Wyoming adopted codes and wiring-permit information — Wyoming DFPES. Confirm the code edition and State permit process for each project.
Other Wyoming Trade Licenses
Looking at a different trade? CLR also publishes these Wyoming licensing guides:
- Wyoming General Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Electrician License Requirements
- Wyoming Plumber License Requirements
- Wyoming HVAC Technician License Requirements
- Wyoming Painting Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Landscaping Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Masonry Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Concrete Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Carpentry Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Low-Voltage Technician License Requirements
- Wyoming Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Home Inspector License Requirements
- Wyoming Pool Contractor License Requirements
- Wyoming Handyman License Requirements
- Wyoming Pest Control License Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Wyoming have a solar contractor license?
Wyoming does not have a separate solar-PV contractor license. A business installing solar-PV electrical equipment needs the statewide Electrical Contractor license and a full-time Wyoming Master Electrician of Record.
Must the business owner be a Master Electrician?
Not necessarily. The Electrical Contractor must actively employ a full-time Wyoming licensed Master Electrician of Record, who is responsible for compliance and can serve only one contractor.
How much is the Electrical Contractor license?
DFPES lists $400 for a new Electrical Contractor license and $400 for renewal. The license expires July 1 following issuance.
Is NABCEP required in Wyoming?
DFPES’s electrical-licensing requirements do not list NABCEP as a condition of the Electrical Contractor license. A utility, customer, lender, or voluntary program can set separate requirements.
Do I still need permits for a solar project?
Yes. The State Electrical Contractor license does not replace State wiring permits, inspections, utility interconnection, or local building and zoning approvals.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- Wyoming DFPES — Electrical Licensing
- Wyoming DFPES — Electrical Safety, permits, and adopted codes
- Wyo. Stat. §§ 35-9-120 through 35-9-130 — electrical licensing
Verified 2026-09-04 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03
Report a correction to this guide
Corrections and presentation updates
- : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.