South Dakota Solar License Requirements (2026)
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04
South Dakota does not issue a separate solar-PV contractor license. Electrical wiring work is regulated statewide through the South Dakota Electrical Commission, and a person engaging in electrical contracting must hold the appropriate Electrical Contractor license. For a solar-PV contractor, that means meeting the Electrical Contractor’s experience and examination requirements, maintaining the statutory undertaking and insurance, and using the State electrical-permit and inspection process. A State electrical credential does not replace local building, zoning, utility-interconnection, or project-specific approvals.
Regulatory Body
South Dakota Electrical Commission (SDEC) administers the credential or scope-specific rules discussed here under SDCL ch. 36-16. Whether that pathway applies depends on the work scope and conditions explained below. The Commission licenses electrical contractors and electricians, issues or oversees electrical permits and inspections, and administers South Dakota electrical-wiring law.
- Official portal: https://dlr.sd.gov/electrical/default.aspx
Eligibility Requirements
This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Applicants must provide a Social Security Number. SDCL ch. 36-16 does not state a South Dakota residency condition for this license. Apply through the Commission and meet the current application, experience, insurance, and undertaking requirements.
Good moral character
The Commission uses the current application and licensing statutes to determine whether an applicant may be licensed. Provide the required application disclosures accurately.
Background investigation
The current Electrical Contractor application requires the applicant’s Social Security number and asks about criminal convictions; it does not state a separate solar-PV fingerprint requirement.
Experience and Education
At least 2 years of Before applying for an Electrical Contractor license, an applicant must have at least two years of experience as a journeyman electrician or at least one year of commercial experience as a Class B electrician. This is the Electrical Contractor pathway—not a separate solar experience requirement. has to be evidenced and confirmed. Retain payroll, tax, project, or supervisor records, since the board may audit the experience claimed.
Accepted proof of experience or eligibility
- South Dakota Electrical License Application
- Documentation of qualifying journeyman or Class B experience requested by the Commission
- Electrical Contractor undertaking/bond application and insurance certificate
Education substitution
SDCL 36-16-19 states the qualifying experience alternatives. Do not substitute a voluntary solar credential for the State electrical experience requirement unless the Commission confirms an applicable rule.
Exam Requirements
Testing provider or authority: South Dakota Electrical Commission or its current designated examination process. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:
- Electrical Contractor examination required by the current Commission application process — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score: confirm in the current candidate bulletin
Examination fee: $60 application fee plus a $200 Electrical Contractor license fee for a new license; the Commission’s current application materials control any separate examination charge.
Retake policy: Meet the Commission’s current examination and reapplication instructions. Do not rely on a fixed provider, question count, score, or wait period unless confirmed in the current Commission materials.
Insurance and Bonds
Before the license is issued, the applicant must file a $10,000 contractor license surety bond in the form prescribed by the SDEC.
General liability
Before issuance and at biennial renewal, maintain the statutory $10,000 undertaking and liability insurance of at least $100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate for bodily injury, plus $25,000 per occurrence property damage; a $300,000 combined single limit is an alternative. Certificates must remain on file with the Commission.
Workers' compensation
South Dakota does not require every employer to carry workers’ compensation insurance, although its coverage law applies broadly with limited exceptions and coverage is strongly recommended. Confirm coverage and any independent-contractor status with the Department of Labor and Regulation and the project owner or local authority.
Additional financial requirements
The Commission requires the $10,000 undertaking and a $50 deposit at undertaking execution and at biennial renewal, subject to the statutory fund-waiver condition. No separate financial-statement requirement is identified in the Commission materials reviewed.
Fee Schedule
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $60 |
| Initial license | $200 |
| Renewal (every 2 years) | $200 |
To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for South Dakota solar.
Renewal and Continuing Education
The South Dakota Electrical Contractor License for Solar-PV Work runs on a 2 years renewal cycle. The current renewal fee is $200. Renewal is due before June 30 of even-numbered years. Keep the undertaking and liability insurance in force and confirm whether the statutory $50 deposit is waived because the fund threshold has been met.
Continuing education: Obtain 16 hours of Commission-approved continuing education by renewal or June 30, whichever is sooner. At least eight hours must cover the National Electrical Code; no more than eight hours may be pre-approved correspondence or interactive online courses.
Reciprocity
For this classification, South Dakota does not recognize the NASCLA Accredited Examination.
| Reciprocal State | Accepted Exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Minnesota | Electrical Contractor | Current reciprocal agreement; the out-of-state license must have been earned by examination and held active for at least one year. |
| Nebraska | Electrical Contractor | Current reciprocal agreement; the out-of-state license must have been earned by examination and held active for at least one year. |
| North Dakota | Electrical Contractor | Current reciprocal agreement; the out-of-state license must have been earned by examination and held active for at least one year. |
These are reciprocal Electrical Contractor credentials, not solar-specific reciprocity. Confirm the current Commission agreement and conditions before applying; other state credentials can be assessed under the Commission’s current process.
Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Solar license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.
Solar Licensing in Neighboring States
Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare South Dakota's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:
- Iowa Solar License Requirements — Iowa Electrical Contractor License for Solar PV Work
- Minnesota Solar License Requirements — Minnesota Residential Building Contractor or Residential Remodeler License (Residential Solar PV Contracting)
- Montana Solar License Requirements — Montana Solar Contractor Requirements — Electrical, Construction and Permit Guide
- Nebraska Solar License Requirements — Nebraska Solar PV — Electrical Licensing, Contractor Registration, and Interconnection
- North Dakota Solar License Requirements — North Dakota Solar PV — Contracting Master Electrician and Contractor Requirements
- Wyoming Solar License Requirements — Wyoming Electrical Contractor License for Solar-PV Installation
Step-by-Step Application Roadmap
- Confirm the work is electrical contracting. Solar-PV electrical wiring is within the statewide electrical framework; a separate solar contractor license is not issued.
- Meet the Electrical Contractor experience route. Document two years as a journeyman electrician or one year of commercial Class B experience before applying.
- Apply for and complete the current licensing process. Submit the Commission’s Electrical License Application and follow its current examination instructions, unless applying under an approved reciprocal pathway.
- File undertaking and insurance. Provide the $10,000 undertaking and the required liability-insurance certificate; keep both in force with the Commission.
- Pay the State fees. The current new-license materials list a $60 application fee and $200 Electrical Contractor license fee, plus the statutory undertaking-fund deposit.
- Use permits and State inspections. All electrical wiring installations must be inspected by a State Electrical Inspector. Obtain the appropriate permit and coordinate inspections.
- Complete utility and local approvals. Utility interconnection and local building, zoning, structural, and fire-code approvals are separate from Commission licensure.
- Renew biennially. Licenses expire June 30 of even-numbered years. Renew with the required fee, undertaking/insurance compliance, and continuing education.
Application Checklist
Before submitting to SDEC, the applicant should have each of the following ready:
Progress is saved in this browser, so you can return to this checklist while your application is in flight.
Common Filing Mistakes
These are the recurring mistakes that most often delay or reject a South Dakota Solar application, based on the official instructions cited here.
Calling it a solar license
South Dakota’s relevant statewide credential is Electrical Contractor; solar-PV does not create a separate State solar license.
Using the wrong experience threshold
The Electrical Contractor statute uses two years as a journeyman or one year of commercial Class B experience—not a generic four-year solar experience requirement.
Forgetting the undertaking
The State requirement is both the $10,000 undertaking and compliant liability insurance, not insurance alone.
Renewing annually or using the wrong CE total
The cycle is biennial, ending June 30 of even-numbered years, with 16 hours of CE and specific code/online limits.
Skipping Commission inspection
State licensure does not replace the electrical permit and State Electrical Inspector review, or utility and local approvals.
Study and Reference Materials
The following references are cited by the regulator, used in the application process, or commonly used to prepare for the trade scope. Listed for reader convenience; CLR receives no compensation for these recommendations.
- SDCL ch. 36-16 — South Dakota Legislature. Electrical Contractor experience, fees, undertaking, insurance, and licensing requirements.
- South Dakota Electrical Commission application and forms — South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. Current fees, application, undertaking, insurance, and examination process.
- South Dakota Electrical Commission continuing education page — South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. Current 16-hour biennial CE requirements.
- State electrical inspections and permits — South Dakota Electrical Commission. Plan permits and inspections before beginning the installation.
Other South Dakota Trade Licenses
CLR maintains guides for additional South Dakota trades; the published ones are listed here:
- South Dakota General Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Electrician License Requirements
- South Dakota Plumber License Requirements
- South Dakota HVAC Technician License Requirements
- South Dakota Roofing Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Painting Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Landscaping Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Masonry Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Concrete Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Carpentry Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Low-Voltage Technician License Requirements
- South Dakota Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Home Inspector License Requirements
- South Dakota Pool Contractor License Requirements
- South Dakota Handyman License Requirements
- South Dakota Pest Control License Requirements
- South Dakota Septic Contractor License Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
Does South Dakota have a solar contractor license?
No separate solar-PV contractor license is issued. Electrical contracting is licensed statewide by the Electrical Commission, so the Electrical Contractor credential is the relevant State license for solar-PV electrical work.
What experience is required for an Electrical Contractor license?
The statute requires two years as a journeyman electrician or one year of commercial experience as a Class B electrician before applying.
What undertaking and insurance are required?
The Commission requires a $10,000 undertaking and liability insurance meeting the statutory bodily-injury and property-damage limits, or the stated combined single-limit alternative. Keep the documents in force with the Commission.
When does the license renew?
Electrical licenses expire June 30 of even-numbered years. The Electrical Contractor renewal fee is $200, and Commission CE requirements apply.
Do I still need a solar permit and inspection?
Yes. The Commission states that electrical wiring installations must be inspected by a State Electrical Inspector. Utility and local building approvals are separate.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — licensing and current notices
- SDCL ch. 36-16 — electricians and electrical contractors
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — license application and current fees
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — undertaking and insurance
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — examinations
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — continuing education
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — reciprocal agreements
- South Dakota Electrical Commission — inspections
Verified 2026-09-04 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03
Report a correction to this guide
Corrections and presentation updates
- : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
- : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
- : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.
