Kentucky Low Voltage License Requirements (2026)
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04
Kentucky regulates low-voltage installation, alteration, and repair through individual low-voltage installer certificates under 815 KAR 35:072. Class LV-G covers general low-voltage and general alarm systems; Class LV-U covers any low-voltage system, including fire alarm and mass notification. A Kentucky master electrician or electrician may perform low-voltage work without this separate certificate. Local electrical permits and inspections still apply.
Regulatory Body
Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction — Electrical Licensing / local electrical inspector (DHBC / AHJ) is the statutory authority responsible for issuing and enforcing this license under KRS 227A.150; 815 KAR 35:072; local permit rules. DHBC certifies low-voltage installers; state and local electrical authorities administer permits and inspections.
- Official portal: https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/815/035/072/
- Address: 500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601
- Phone: Confirm current Electrical Licensing contacts
Eligibility Requirements
Applicants must be at least 18 years old. Applicants must provide a Social Security Number. The regulation does not state a separate residency requirement. Confirm local business and permit requirements.
Good moral character
Submit the current DHBC application accurately.
Background investigation
The cited low-voltage regulation does not establish a general fingerprint requirement.
Experience and Education
The experience bar is 2 years of Both LV-G and LV-U require two years of relevant experience immediately before application. LV-U experience must be in fire alarm systems. One year is at least 1,600 hours in a contiguous 12-month period., and it must be backed by verifiable records — typically payroll, tax, project, or supervisor documentation covering the claimed period.
Accepted proof of experience or eligibility
- Completed notarized Form EL-9
- Experience documentation required by DHBC
- Current NICET Fire Alarm Systems Level II proof for LV-U
Education substitution
The regulation does not state a general education substitution.
Exam Requirements
Testing provider or authority: An examination provider approved by DHBC; the regulation identifies the ICC Kentucky Low Voltage Electrician Examination.. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:
- ICC Kentucky Low Voltage Electrician Examination — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score 70%
Examination fee: The initial certificate application fee is $25. Confirm current examination and renewal fees with DHBC.
Retake policy: A passing examination score is valid for two years; follow the current approved-provider retest instructions.
Insurance and Bonds
There is no statewide surety bond tied to this credential in the cited record. Bonding can still surface at the project level — permit, license, or public-works bonds — so check before you bid.
General liability
815 KAR 35:072 does not state a general statewide liability amount for the individual installer certificate.
Workers' compensation
Employers must meet applicable Kentucky workers’ compensation requirements.
Additional financial requirements
Confirm business-level requirements with the local authority.
Fee Schedule
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $25 |
| Initial license | $25 |
| Renewal cycle varies by jurisdiction | No separate amount recorded; confirm in the fee guidance |
To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Kentucky low voltage.
Renewal and Continuing Education
No one statewide renewal cycle governs the Kentucky Low-Voltage Installer Certification; the controlling schedule is the issuing board's or the local jurisdiction's. No separate statewide renewal fee is listed in the cited sources. Do not rely on unsourced annual CE or fee claims.
Continuing education: Confirm current renewal requirements with DHBC.
Downloadable Asset
2026 Kentucky Low Voltage License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.
Download the PDF roadmap →Reciprocity
For this classification, Kentucky does not recognize the NASCLA Accredited Examination.
| Reciprocal State | Accepted Exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified. | ||
Do not assume reciprocity. The regulation provides individual certification requirements; verify any current DHBC agreement for the exact credential.
Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Low Voltage license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.
Low Voltage Licensing in Neighboring States
Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Kentucky's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:
- Illinois Low Voltage License Requirements — Illinois Private Alarm Contractor Licensing and Local Low-Voltage Requirements
- Indiana Low Voltage License Requirements — Indiana Low-Voltage Requirements (Local Credentials and Project Approvals)
- Missouri Low Voltage License Requirements — Missouri Local Low-Voltage and Electrical Contractor Requirements
- Ohio Low Voltage License Requirements — Ohio Low-Voltage Requirements: State Exemption, Fire-Protection Certificates, and Local Rules
- Tennessee Low Voltage License Requirements — Tennessee CE-D/CE-J contractor classification or Alarm Systems Contractor credential, as applicable
- Virginia Low Voltage License Requirements — Virginia Electronic/Communication and Fire Alarm Contractor Specialty
- West Virginia Low Voltage License Requirements — West Virginia Specialty Low-Voltage Electrician License
Step-by-Step Application Roadmap
- Choose the correct class. LV-G covers general low-voltage/general alarm; LV-U covers any low-voltage system, including fire alarm and mass notification.
- Document two years of experience. Provide two years of recent relevant work; LV-U requires fire-alarm experience.
- Meet the LV-U credential rule if applicable. LV-U applicants must possess and maintain NICET Fire Alarm Systems Level II.
- Pass the approved ICC examination. Achieve at least 70%; the passing score remains valid for two years.
- File Form EL-9. Submit the completed notarized application, experience proof, examination result, and $25 nonrefundable application fee.
- Obtain permits and inspections. Work with the state or local electrical inspector having jurisdiction before beginning work.
Application Checklist
Have each of the following squared away before the packet goes to DHBC / AHJ:
Progress is saved in this browser, so you can return to this checklist while your application is in flight.
Common Filing Mistakes
The errors below are the ones that most frequently cost Kentucky Low Voltage applicants time, drawn from the cited board guidance.
Using LV-G for fire alarm work
Fire alarm and mass-notification systems require LV-U unless the work is performed by a licensed master electrician or electrician.
Claiming an unsupported alarm permit
The source-based pathway is the low-voltage installer certification; verify any separate local business requirement.
Skipping the AHJ
State certification does not replace electrical permits or inspections.
Study and Reference Materials
The following references are cited by the regulator, used in the application process, or commonly used to prepare for the trade scope. Listed for reader convenience; CLR receives no compensation for these recommendations.
- 815 KAR 35:072 — Kentucky Legislative Research Commission. Scope, experience, NICET, exam, and application rules.
- Current Kentucky electrical code and permit requirements — DHBC / AHJ. Use the applicable code edition and local requirements.
Other Kentucky Trade Licenses
For a different Kentucky credential, see these companion guides published by CLR:
- Kentucky General Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Electrician License Requirements
- Kentucky Plumber License Requirements
- Kentucky HVAC Technician License Requirements
- Kentucky Roofing Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Painting Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Landscaping Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Masonry Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Concrete Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Carpentry Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Solar Installer License Requirements
- Kentucky Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Home Inspector License Requirements
- Kentucky Pool Contractor License Requirements
- Kentucky Handyman License Requirements
- Kentucky Pest Control License Requirements
- Kentucky Septic Contractor License Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Kentucky have a low-voltage installer certificate?
Yes. DHBC issues individual LV-G and LV-U certificates under 815 KAR 35:072.
What is the difference between LV-G and LV-U?
LV-G covers general low-voltage and general alarm systems. LV-U also covers fire alarm and mass-notification systems.
What experience is needed?
Two years of relevant experience immediately before application; LV-U requires fire-alarm experience. A year is at least 1,600 hours in a contiguous 12-month period.
Does LV-U require NICET?
Yes. LV-U applicants must possess and maintain NICET Fire Alarm Systems Level II.
Are local permits still required?
Yes. State certification does not replace the permit or inspection process of the authority having jurisdiction.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- 815 KAR 35:072 — certification of low-voltage installers
- Kentucky electrical contractor/master/electrician regulation
- Kentucky electrical inspection rule
Verified 2026-09-04 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03
Report a correction to this guide
Corrections and presentation updates
- : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
- : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
- : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.
