Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

District of Columbia Painting License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

The District does not publish a standalone painter occupational license. A painting business performing home-improvement or construction-contracting work must use the applicable Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) contractor Basic Business License (BBL): Home Improvement Contractor (HIC) or General Contractor/Construction Manager, according to the actual activity. HIC has extra consumer-protection documents and a bond. Lead work is a separate, conditional District requirement. DOEE certifies lead-based-paint professionals and business entities, administers lead renovation and abatement permits, and enforces District and federal lead rules; before an individual performs covered renovation in a pre-1978 dwelling or child-occupied facility, the appropriate DOEE certification is required.

Federal requirement: EPA Lead RRP Rule

Pre-1978 housing triggers the federal EPA Lead RRP Rule for any paint-disturbing renovation, repair, or painting work — a requirement that stands apart from whatever District of Columbia does or does not license. See our complete EPA RRP Lead Certification guide for who needs firm and renovator certification, what it costs, and how renewal works.

Regulatory Body

District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection and Department of Energy and Environment (DLCP / DOEE) administers the credential or scope-specific rules discussed here under D.C. business-licensing requirements and lead rules administered by DLCP and DOEE. Whether that pathway applies depends on the work scope and conditions explained below. DLCP issues contractor BBLs. DOEE administers lead certification, permitting, compliance monitoring, and enforcement.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be at least 18 years old. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. DLCP does not state a painter-specific residency rule. Follow the current BBL requirements for the business entity, location, tax registration, Clean Hands, and any corporate registration that apply to the selected contractor category.

Good moral character

DLCP’s contractor-category page does not state a painter-specific character standard. HIC applicants provide the listed police criminal-history report.

Background investigation

A police criminal-history report is listed for HIC applicants. It is not listed on DLCP’s current General Contractor/Construction Manager checklist.

Experience and Education

The cited source set does not publish a fixed year-based experience threshold for this credential. The controlling requirement is DLCP’s current contractor BBL page does not list a painter experience prerequisite or a painter trade examination. Covered lead activities have their own DOEE individual and business certification requirements..

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • For HIC: liability-insurance certificate, applicable location and entity records, home-improvement contract, police criminal-history report, $25,000 surety bond, tax registration, and Clean Hands certification
  • For General Contractor/Construction Manager: the current DLCP category documents
  • For covered lead work: DOEE and EPA/DOEE records required by the lead activity and, when applicable, a DOEE permit

Education substitution

There is no published painter education-for-experience substitution. Lead training and certification depend on the particular lead activity.

Exam Requirements

No statewide examination is specified for this pathway. The controlling process is: No District painting licensing examination is published

Examination fee: DLCP does not list a painter examination fee. DOEE lead training, certification, and permit costs are separate and depend on the covered activity.

Retake policy: Not applicable to a standalone painting license.

Insurance and Bonds

Before the license is issued, the applicant must file a $25,000 contractor license surety bond in the form prescribed by the DLCP / DOEE.

General liability

DLCP requires a certificate of liability insurance for HIC and General Contractor/Construction Manager BBL applications, but its current public category and insurance pages do not state one universal dollar limit for painting. Lead-permit applications can have separate pollution-insurance documentation; for example, DOEE lists $250,000 for an eligible renovation-permit application and $1 million for an abatement permit, subject to the stated conditions.

Workers' compensation

Employers must comply with applicable District workers’ compensation law. DLCP’s public contractor checklists do not state a painter-specific issuance document.

Additional financial requirements

HIC requires a $25,000 surety bond for the two-year license period; DLCP also states a $50,000 bond is required for annual sales above $100,000. That bond is HIC-specific, not a universal painting-business bond.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
Application$99
Initial license$99
Renewal (every 2 years)$99

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for District of Columbia painting.

Renewal and Continuing Education

The DC Home Improvement Contractor or General Contractor BBL, With Conditional Lead Credentials must be renewed every 2 years. The fee to renew is presently $99. DLCP lists a two-year $99 term and four-year $198 term for eligible Contractor and Construction Services categories. HIC is not eligible for the six-month option.

Continuing education: DLCP’s contractor-category page does not state a painting CE requirement. Lead certifications and permits have separate DOEE conditions; verify the current credential-specific renewal rules.

Reciprocity

District of Columbia grants no NASCLA reciprocity for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

There is no published District painting credential to reciprocate. A business must apply for the appropriate DC BBL, and lead credentials must be evaluated under DOEE’s current rules rather than assumed portable.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Painting license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Painting Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare District of Columbia's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Choose the contractor BBL category. Use HIC for home-improvement contracting or General Contractor/Construction Manager when that category fits the actual services. DLCP says subcontractors also need their own applicable BBL.
  2. Prepare DLCP’s current category documents. Both contractor categories require insurance, business/location records as applicable, tax registration, and Clean Hands. HIC also requires its contract, police report, and surety bond.
  3. Meet the residential-salesperson requirement. DLCP requires HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting to designate and maintain at least one Home Improvement Salesperson BBL.
  4. Screen each job for lead rules. For work in pre-1978 dwellings or child-occupied facilities, determine whether the activity is a covered renovation or abatement and obtain the appropriate DOEE individual and business certification before starting.
  5. Obtain a DOEE permit when the lead project requires one. DOEE directs applicants to submit a Lead Activity Notification and online permit application. Its published renovation and abatement permit documents list different required records and insurance conditions.

Application Checklist

Ahead of submission to DLCP / DOEE, confirm every item on this short list:

Common Filing Mistakes

The following pitfalls summarize the issues most likely to delay, return, or derail a District of Columbia Painting application based on the published board instructions and source materials cited on this page.

Calling HIC the only painting credential

DLCP separates HIC from General Contractor/Construction Manager. Choose the category that matches the work rather than relying on a trade label.

Using an obsolete BBL fee or fixed insurance amount

DLCP’s current two-year Contractor and Construction Services fee is $99, and its public pages require a COI without publishing one universal painter coverage limit.

Missing the HIC bond escalation

DLCP lists a $25,000 HIC bond and $50,000 where annual sales exceed $100,000.

Treating EPA RRP as the entire DC lead framework

DOEE administers District lead certification and permitting; the correct credential depends on whether the work is a renovation, abatement, or another regulated lead activity.

Skipping the residential salesperson credential

DLCP requires HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting to maintain at least one Home Improvement Salesperson BBL.

Study and Reference Materials

The following references are cited by the regulator, used in the application process, or commonly used to prepare for the trade scope. Listed for reader convenience; CLR receives no compensation for these recommendations.

  • DLCP Contractor and Construction Services — District of Columbia DLCP. Current HIC and General Contractor/Construction Manager category documents, salesperson rule, and fees.
  • DOEE lead rules for the regulated community — District of Columbia DOEE. Current lead certification, business-entity, project, and permit framework.
  • DOEE lead renovation and abatement permit application — District of Columbia DOEE. Activity-specific records and insurance conditions for permit applications.

Other District of Columbia Trade Licenses

For a different District of Columbia credential, see these companion guides published by CLR:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does DC issue a painter license?

No standalone painter occupational license is published. The applicable credential is the DLCP contractor BBL for the business activity, plus separate lead credentials where the work is covered by DOEE rules.

Do painters need a Home Improvement Contractor BBL?

A business performing home-improvement contracting needs the HIC BBL; painting businesses performing another construction-contracting activity should use the DLCP category that fits that activity. Confirm the category with DLCP before filing.

What does HIC require?

DLCP lists liability insurance, location and entity records where applicable, a home-improvement contract, police criminal-history report, $25,000 surety bond, tax registration, and Clean Hands certification.

When do DC lead credentials matter?

DOEE states that an individual must have the appropriate certification before performing a covered lead-based-paint activity or renovation in a pre-1978 dwelling or child-occupied facility. The required certification and permit turn on the activity and conditions.

Is EPA RRP alone always enough in DC?

No. DOEE administers the authorized District program and warns that an EPA-certified renovator can still violate District requirements when the project requires an abatement certification. Check DOEE’s current scope rules.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. DLCP Contractor and Construction Services
  2. DLCP Home Improvement surety-bond details
  3. DLCP contractor insurance requirements
  4. DLCP Business Licensing FAQs
  5. DOEE lead-based-paint certification and permitting
  6. DOEE lead rules for the regulated community
  7. DOEE renovation and abatement permit application

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.