Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

District of Columbia Carpentry License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

The District of Columbia does not issue a separate carpentry trade license. A carpentry business must identify the correct DLCP Contractor and Construction Services activity for the work: General Contractor/Construction Manager (GC/CM) or Home Improvement Contractor (HIC). DLCP publishes separate document requirements for those activities. An HIC must furnish a $25,000 Home Improvement Surety Bond and a police criminal-history report; a GC/CM applicant has its own liability-insurance, contract, occupancy, and business-document requirements. Both HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting must designate and maintain at least one licensed Home Improvement Salesperson. The District Department of Buildings (DOB) separately decides whether the specific carpentry project needs a permit or inspection.

Regulatory Body

District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) administers the credential or scope-specific rules discussed here under D.C. Official Code Title 47, Chapter 28; District contractor and home-improvement licensing requirements. Whether that pathway applies depends on the work scope and conditions explained below. DLCP licenses Contractor and Construction Services business activities, including General Contractor/Construction Manager and Home Improvement Contractor. The District Department of Buildings separately administers construction permits and inspections.

Eligibility Requirements

This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. DLCP’s general Basic Business License requirements call for a valid FEIN or SSN and tax registration. Corporate registration is required where applicable; use current DLCP category instructions rather than assuming a separate residency or registered-agent rule.

Good moral character

No standalone carpentry character standard is listed in the current DLCP category page. HIC applicants must provide the required police criminal-history report.

Background investigation

For HIC, DLCP lists a police criminal-history report. The current GC/CM requirement list does not establish the same universal item; follow the selected category’s application instructions.

Experience and Education

The cited source set does not publish a fixed year-based experience threshold for this credential. The controlling requirement is DLCP’s current Contractor and Construction Services page does not list a standalone carpentry experience threshold. It identifies business-license documents for GC/CM and HIC; confirm any class-specific or project-specific qualification with DLCP before filing..

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • Current DLCP BOSS application and documents for the selected GC/CM or HIC activity
  • Corporate registration where applicable
  • Tax registration and Clean Hands Certificate
  • Required certificate of liability insurance, contract, and—where applicable—HIC police report and surety bond

Exam Requirements

No statewide examination is specified for this pathway. The controlling process is: No standalone DC carpentry examination is listed in the current DLCP Contractor and Construction Services requirements.

Examination fee: No separate carpentry-examination fee is published on the current activity page.

Retake policy: Use DLCP’s current category application instructions if the agency requests additional documentation or review.

Insurance and Bonds

A $25,000 surety bond, in the form prescribed by the DLCP, must be posted as a condition of licensure.

General liability

DLCP requires a Certificate of Liability Insurance for both GC/CM and HIC applications. Its current insurance page specifies certificate and insurer conditions; confirm the selected category’s coverage details rather than relying on a generic carpentry limit.

Workers' compensation

Follow the insurance documents listed for the chosen DLCP activity and the District’s current employment-law requirements. Do not treat this carpentry guide as a universal workers’ compensation threshold.

Additional financial requirements

A $25,000 Home Improvement Surety Bond is required for an HIC for the two-year license period. The current GC/CM category page does not state that every GC/CM applicant posts that HIC bond.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
ApplicationNo separate amount recorded; confirm in the fee guidance
Initial license$99
Renewal (every 2 years)$99

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for District of Columbia carpentry.

Renewal and Continuing Education

The DC Carpentry Contractor Requirements — General Contractor/Construction Manager or Home Improvement Contractor must be renewed every 2 years. The fee to renew is presently $99. The two-year DLCP term is $99; a four-year term is also available for $198. Maintain the HIC bond for the HIC license period and renew using current DLCP requirements.

Continuing education: The current DLCP Contractor and Construction Services page does not list a carpentry continuing-education requirement; verify the selected activity’s renewal checklist.

Downloadable Asset

2026 District of Columbia Carpentry License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.

Download the PDF roadmap →

Reciprocity

District of Columbia grants no NASCLA reciprocity for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

DLCP’s current Contractor and Construction Services requirements do not publish a carpentry reciprocity program. Obtain the required District business activity license even if the business holds an outside contractor credential.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Carpentry license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Carpentry Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare District of Columbia's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Define the carpentry scope and select the DLCP activity. Determine with DLCP whether the work belongs under GC/CM or HIC. Do not assume a generic carpentry endorsement exists.
  2. Set up business prerequisites. Obtain the FEIN or SSN used for the application, tax registration, Clean Hands Certificate, and corporate registration where applicable.
  3. Gather category documents. GC/CM requires the current liability-insurance certificate, occupancy/home-occupation document, contract, and business records. HIC requires those applicable items plus a police report and $25,000 surety bond.
  4. Designate a Home Improvement Salesperson for residential contracting. DLCP says both HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting must maintain at least one licensed Home Improvement Salesperson.
  5. Apply through DLCP’s current business-licensing platform. Use DLCP’s BOSS application path and select the two- or four-year term available for the activity; HIC is not eligible for the six-month term.
  6. Check permits and approvals with DOB. DOB determines whether the actual carpentry scope, property, overlays, and related work require permits or inspections.
  7. Renew before the license-period end. Since August 2025, DLCP licenses generally run through the last day of the corresponding month two or four years later, based on the selected term. Keep required documents and the HIC bond current.

Application Checklist

Ahead of submission to DLCP, confirm every item on this short list:

Common Filing Mistakes

These are the recurring mistakes that most often delay or reject a District of Columbia Carpentry application, based on the official instructions cited here.

Inventing a carpentry-specific license

DLCP’s current Contractor and Construction Services page lists GC/CM and HIC, not a standalone carpentry credential.

Applying the HIC bond to every contractor

The $25,000 bond belongs to the HIC path. Confirm the exact GC/CM requirements rather than applying the residential HIC rule universally.

Missing the HIC salesperson designation

DLCP says HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting must maintain at least one licensed Home Improvement Salesperson.

Using stale license fees

The current activity page lists $99 for two years and $198 for four years, rather than older bundled fee figures.

Assuming business licensing answers the permit question

The DOB permit answer depends on the project’s actual scope and location; check it before work begins.

Study and Reference Materials

The list below collects the board's cited references and the materials applicants typically study from. CLR is not paid to recommend any of them.

  • DC DLCP Contractor and Construction Services — District of Columbia DLCP. Current GC/CM and HIC documents, fees, Home Improvement Salesperson requirement, and application path.
  • DC DLCP Home Improvement Surety Bond Details — District of Columbia DLCP. Current $25,000 HIC bond and two-year period.
  • DC DOB How to Get a Permit — District of Columbia Department of Buildings. Current permit process and scope checks.

Other District of Columbia Trade Licenses

CLR maintains guides for additional District of Columbia trades; the published ones are listed here:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the District of Columbia issue a carpentry license?

No standalone carpentry trade license is listed. A carpentry business must use the appropriate DLCP Contractor and Construction Services activity—GC/CM or HIC—based on its actual scope.

When is the $25,000 bond required?

DLCP requires every Home Improvement Contractor applicant to post a $25,000 Home Improvement Surety Bond for the two-year license period. The current GC/CM category page does not state that this HIC bond applies to every GC/CM applicant.

What documents does a DC Home Improvement Contractor need?

DLCP lists liability insurance, occupancy/home-occupation documentation, corporate registration when applicable, a home-improvement contract, police criminal-history report, $25,000 surety bond, tax registration, and Clean Hands Certification.

Do carpentry projects need a DC building permit?

Permit requirements depend on the actual scope, property, overlays, and related work. Confirm the project with DOB before starting; do not infer the permit answer from the business license.

How long is the DLCP contractor license?

DLCP’s current activity page offers two-year ($99) and four-year ($198) terms; HIC is not eligible for the six-month option. DLCP’s current license-period format runs through the last day of the corresponding month.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. DC DLCP — Contractor and Construction Services license requirements and fees
  2. DC DLCP — Home Improvement Surety Bond details
  3. DC DLCP — license types requiring insurance
  4. DC DLCP — Business Licensing FAQs
  5. DC Department of Buildings — How to Get a Permit
  6. D.C. Official Code § 47-2883.01 — home improvement bonding authority

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.