Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

District of Columbia Masonry License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

The District does not publish a standalone masonry occupational license or masonry examination. A masonry business doing construction-contracting work uses the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) Contractor and Construction Services BBL category that matches its activity: General Contractor/Construction Manager or Home Improvement Contractor (HIC). HIC has additional consumer-protection documents and bonding. The business license is distinct from construction approval: the District’s municipal Department of Buildings (DOB) separately determines the building permit, plan-review, code, and inspection requirements for each project.

Regulatory Body

This license is issued and enforced by District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection and Department of Buildings (DLCP / DOB) pursuant to D.C. business-licensing and construction-permitting requirements. DLCP issues contractor Basic Business Licenses. DOB accepts construction permit applications, coordinates plan review, issues permits, and performs or authorizes inspections.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must be at least 18 years old. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. DLCP does not state a masonry-specific residency requirement. Follow the current selected BBL category’s entity, location, tax-registration, and Clean Hands requirements.

Good moral character

DLCP’s contractor page does not state a masonry character standard. HIC applicants provide the listed police criminal-history report.

Background investigation

A police criminal-history report is listed for HIC applicants; it is not listed on DLCP’s current General Contractor/Construction Manager checklist.

Experience and Education

No fixed number of years of experience is set out in the cited sources for this credential; instead, the controlling requirement is DLCP does not list a masonry experience prerequisite or trade exam for either contractor BBL category. A project may require complete construction documents, responsible professionals, or other records based on scope..

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • For General Contractor/Construction Manager: certificate of liability insurance, applicable location/entity records, contract, tax registration, and Clean Hands certification
  • For HIC: the listed HIC documents, including home-improvement contract, police report, and bond
  • DOB permit application and project documents required for the masonry scope

Education substitution

No standalone District masonry credential or education substitution is published.

Exam Requirements

No statewide examination is specified for this pathway. The controlling process is: No District masonry licensing examination is published

Examination fee: DLCP does not list a masonry examination fee for Contractor and Construction Services BBLs.

Retake policy: Not applicable to a standalone masonry credential.

Insurance and Bonds

The DLCP / DOB requires a $25,000 contractor license surety bond to be on file before the license will issue.

General liability

DLCP requires a certificate of liability insurance for both contractor BBL categories, but the current public pages do not state one universal masonry coverage amount. Use DLCP’s current category rules and the project requirements.

Workers' compensation

Employers must comply with applicable District workers’ compensation law. The current DLCP contractor checklists do not list a masonry-specific issuance document.

Additional financial requirements

The HIC bond is $25,000 for the two-year license period, and DLCP states $50,000 for annual sales above $100,000. It is not a General Contractor/Construction Manager or masonry-wide bond.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
Application$99
Initial license$99
Renewal (every 2 years)$99

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for District of Columbia masonry.

Renewal and Continuing Education

Renewal of the DC Contractor Basic Business License and Project Permits for Masonry Work comes due every 2 years. As cited, the renewal fee stands at $99. DLCP lists two- and four-year BBL terms; the $99 two-year fee is shown here. HIC is not eligible for the six-month option.

Continuing education: DLCP’s current contractor BBL category page does not state a masonry continuing-education requirement.

Reciprocity

The NASCLA Accredited Examination is not accepted by District of Columbia for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

There is no published masonry credential to reciprocate. Out-of-District contractors must follow the DLCP BBL category and DOB project-permit requirements that apply to their District work.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Masonry license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Masonry Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare District of Columbia's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Choose the BBL category that fits the contract. Use HIC for home-improvement contracting or General Contractor/Construction Manager when that category fits the actual activity. DLCP says subcontractors need their own applicable BBL.
  2. Assemble current DLCP documents. Both categories require the listed business, insurance, tax, Clean Hands, and location/entity records. HIC adds a home-improvement contract, police report, and surety bond.
  3. Meet the residential-salesperson rule when applicable. HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting must designate and maintain at least one Home Improvement Salesperson BBL.
  4. Determine the DOB permit scope. DOB identifies required construction permits and reviews. Exterior, structural, alteration, historic, public-space, and other project facts can change the path.
  5. Complete review and inspection before closeout. Submit complete project documents, satisfy assigned reviews, obtain the permit before work, and complete the inspections required for the scope.

Application Checklist

These are the pieces to lock down before filing with DLCP / DOB:

Common Filing Mistakes

Working from the cited board instructions, here are the snags most likely to trip up a District of Columbia Masonry filing.

Inventing a masonry trade license

DLCP does not publish one; choose the business-license category based on the actual contracting activity.

Using old BBL fees or a universal insurance limit

DLCP currently lists $99 for a two-year term and requires a COI without stating one universal masonry coverage limit.

Treating the HIC bond as universal

The HIC bond applies to HIC, not every masonry contractor. DLCP lists $25,000 and an elevated amount for specified annual sales.

Forgetting the separate DOB permit process

A business credential does not authorize unpermitted construction; confirm permit and review requirements for every project.

Missing the residential-salesperson rule

HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting must maintain at least one Home Improvement Salesperson BBL.

Study and Reference Materials

What follows are the regulator-cited and commonly used preparation references for this trade. They appear here for convenience only; CLR takes no compensation for them.

  • DLCP Contractor and Construction Services — District of Columbia DLCP. Current contractor categories, required records, salesperson rule, and fee options.
  • DOB permit process — District of Columbia DOB. Current project-permit, plan-review, and inspection process.

Other District of Columbia Trade Licenses

Should the Masonry path not apply, these other District of Columbia trade guides from CLR may help:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does DC issue a masonry contractor license?

No standalone masonry occupational license is published. A masonry contractor uses the DLCP contractor BBL category that matches its actual construction-contracting activity.

Is there a DC masonry exam or experience minimum?

DLCP’s current Contractor and Construction Services page does not list a masonry trade exam or experience minimum for General Contractor/Construction Manager or HIC.

What does a Home Improvement Contractor need?

DLCP lists liability insurance, location and entity records where applicable, a home-improvement contract, police report, $25,000 surety bond, tax registration, and Clean Hands certification.

Does a BBL replace a building permit?

No. DOB separately determines and issues construction permits and conducts or authorizes inspections for the project scope.

Do residential masonry contractors need a salesperson license?

DLCP requires HICs and General Contractors doing residential contracting to maintain at least one Home Improvement Salesperson BBL.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. DLCP Contractor and Construction Services
  2. DLCP Business Licensing FAQs
  3. DLCP contractor insurance requirements
  4. DLCP Home Improvement surety-bond details
  5. DOB permit process
  6. DOB permitting in the District

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.