Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

West Virginia Landscaping License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

West Virginia has no blanket statewide landscaping-contractor license. A landscape project can require a Contractor Licensing Board (CLB) license when it meets the statutory definition of contracting: generally covered construction work at $5,000 or more residential or $25,000 or more commercial. Routine landscape maintenance and planting do not automatically fit that definition, so confirm a borderline scope with the CLB. Pesticide work is regulated separately. A business applying pesticides for hire needs a West Virginia Department of Agriculture (WVDA) pesticide application business license, and the people applying or supervising applications need the applicable commercial certification or must work as registered technicians under direct supervision. Municipal permits, utility work, irrigation/backflow, grading, and stormwater coverage are separate project questions.

Regulatory Body

West Virginia Division of Labor — Contractor Licensing Board (WVCLB) is the statutory authority responsible for issuing and enforcing this license under West Virginia Code Chapter 21 Article 11 (Contractor Licensing Act); WV CSR 42-5. The West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board, housed in the Division of Labor, licenses general and specialty contractors statewide, administers the PSI examination program, and enforces the $2,500 contracting threshold under WV Code §21-11.

Eligibility Requirements

This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Applicants must provide a Social Security Number. Register with the West Virginia Tax Division before engaging in business activity. A contractor applicant also certifies compliance with applicable tax, workers’ compensation, employment-security, and wage-bond requirements.

Good moral character

Use the current CLB and WVDA applications for required disclosures; the state does not publish a landscape-specific character standard.

Background investigation

Do not assume a universal criminal-background or fingerprint requirement for ordinary landscaping. Follow the disclosures in the application for the credential actually needed.

Experience and Education

The sources cited here stop short of naming a year requirement; the operative standard is The CLB rule does not state a universal landscaping-experience term. For pesticide certification, WVDA requires an examination application and may require appropriate education or experience before examination..

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • Current CLB application/affidavit if the construction scope requires contractor licensing
  • WVDA pesticide examination application and commercial-applicator application if pesticides are part of the service
  • WVDA pesticide application business application if applying pesticides for hire

Education substitution

WVDA decides whether education or experience documentation is needed to sit for pesticide examinations; obtain the current instructions before applying.

Exam Requirements

Testing provider or authority: Prov for Contractor Licensing Board examinations; West Virginia Department of Agriculture for pesticide certification examinations. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:

  • Contractor Licensing Act examination and any classification examination required by the CLB — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score 70%
  • WVDA general standards and applicable pesticide category examination(s), if pesticide work is offered — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score 70%

Examination fee: Current CLB examinations are $59.95 each. WVDA charges $20 per examination session for one or more pesticide exams, $20 annually for a Commercial Applicator, and $60 annually for a Licensed Pesticide Application Business.

Retake policy: For WVDA exams, a first failed attempt may be retaken after 28 days; after two or more failures, wait 56 days. Use current CLB/Prov materials for contractor-exam retakes.

Insurance and Bonds

There is no statewide surety bond tied to this credential in the cited record. Bonding can still surface at the project level — permit, license, or public-works bonds — so check before you bid.

General liability

A Licensed Pesticide Application Business must show WVDA liability coverage of $300,000 for bodily injury or death and $100,000 for property damage, including workers’ compensation and employer-liability coverage. The CLB does not publish a universal landscaping general-liability minimum.

Workers' compensation

A contractor applicant certifies compliance with applicable workers’ compensation requirements. A pesticide application business must provide the coverage specified by WVDA before the business license is issued.

Additional financial requirements

No general CLB financial-statement requirement for landscaping is stated in the current Act/rule. WVDA pesticide businesses must meet the financial-security and insurance requirements in the Pesticide Control Act and current agency materials.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
Application$90
Examination$59.95
Initial license$90
Renewal (every year)$90

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for West Virginia landscaping.

Renewal and Continuing Education

The West Virginia Landscaping Business and Contractor Requirements must be renewed every year. The fee to renew is presently $90. The CLB annual fee is currently $90. WVDA commercial-applicator renewal is in the November 1–April 1 period; under the Pesticide Control Act, an unrenewed credential after April 1 requires a new examination.

Continuing education: The current CLB rule does not state ordinary CE for this contractor license. Commercial applicators need 20 WVDA continuing-certification units in every category over three years; the pesticide individual and business licenses renew annually.

Downloadable Asset

2026 West Virginia Landscaping License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.

Download the PDF roadmap →

Reciprocity

West Virginia grants no NASCLA reciprocity for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

For contractor work, the Board may grant an equivalent classification without a written examination when another state offers similar action and equivalent qualifications are proven. WVDA may waive part of an applicator examination on a reciprocal basis when standards are at least equal; neither path is automatic.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Landscaping license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Landscaping Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare West Virginia's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Map the service lines before licensing. Separate maintenance/planting, construction or hardscape work, pesticide application, grading, irrigation, and utility work. They can trigger different state and local rules.
  2. Check whether the construction scope requires a CLB license. For covered contracting, the current statutory thresholds are $5,000 residential and $25,000 commercial. Confirm the classification and applicability with the CLB rather than treating all landscaping as specialty contracting.
  3. Complete CLB qualifying and examinations if required. The qualifier must meet the responsible-management/full-time-employee rule and complete the Contractor Licensing Act examination plus any classification examination required by the Board.
  4. Register the business with the Tax Division. A business registration certificate is required before engaging in business activity in West Virginia, separate from any contractor or pesticide credential.
  5. License pesticide services separately, if offered. For pesticides applied for hire, obtain the pesticide application business license, maintain the required commercial applicator coverage and certifications, and use registered technicians only under the required supervision.
  6. Assess site-disturbance and local approvals. WVDEP construction-stormwater coverage is required for sites disturbing one acre or more, including smaller sites in a larger common plan. Obtain the local permits and utility/backflow approvals applicable to the actual project.
  7. Renew each credential on its own schedule. The CLB license, commercial applicator credential, and pesticide application business license are annual; commercial applicator certification has separate three-year continuing-credit requirements.

Application Checklist

Have each of the following squared away before the packet goes to WVCLB:

Common Filing Mistakes

The following pitfalls summarize the issues most likely to delay, return, or derail a West Virginia Landscaping application based on the published board instructions and source materials cited on this page.

Treating every landscaping job as a CLB specialty contract

The state has no blanket landscape license. Licensing turns on the statutory contractor definition, scope, and current residential/commercial thresholds.

Using an old $2,500 threshold

Current statute uses $5,000 residential and $25,000 commercial for the contractor definition; check the law and Board if an older webpage conflicts.

Getting only an individual pesticide credential

Pesticide work for hire requires the business license as well as qualified applicators/technicians and the required insurance.

Assigning unsupervised pesticide work to a technician

Registered technicians may work only under the direct supervision required by the Pesticide Control Act and WVDA rules.

Skipping local site approvals

State contractor or pesticide credentials do not replace municipal permits, utility requirements, or site-specific erosion/stormwater compliance.

Study and Reference Materials

The following references are cited by the regulator, used in the application process, or commonly used to prepare for the trade scope. Listed for reader convenience; CLR receives no compensation for these recommendations.

  • West Virginia Contractor Licensing Act Study Guide — Prov / West Virginia CLB. Needed if the construction scope requires CLB licensure.
  • WVDA pesticide examination and study materials — West Virginia Department of Agriculture. Request the current general-standards and applicable category materials when pesticide services are offered.
  • WVDEP Construction Stormwater General Permit guidance — West Virginia DEP. Use for site-disturbance projects at or above the state threshold.

Other West Virginia Trade Licenses

For a different West Virginia credential, see these companion guides published by CLR:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does West Virginia require a landscaping contractor license?

Not for landscaping as a blanket trade category. A CLB license can be required when a project is covered contracting at $5,000 or more residential or $25,000 or more commercial. Confirm whether the actual landscape/hardscape scope meets the statutory definition.

Do I need a license to spray weeds or turf treatments for customers?

A business applying pesticides for hire needs a WVDA pesticide application business license. The people applying or supervising applications must be certified commercial applicators in the appropriate category or registered technicians under direct supervision.

What is the current WVDA pesticide cost?

WVDA currently lists $20 per examination session, a $20 annual Commercial Applicator license, and a $60 annual Licensed Pesticide Application Business license. Confirm current category and renewal instructions directly with WVDA.

Does every landscaping site need a stormwater permit?

No. WVDEP construction-stormwater coverage applies to sites disturbing one acre or more, including smaller sites that are part of a larger common plan. Other site, erosion, or municipal rules can still apply below that threshold.

Can I use a state credential instead of a city permit?

No. Cities and counties can have their own registrations, permits, and inspections. Charleston’s licensing page is one municipal example; check the jurisdiction where the work occurs.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. WV Division of Labor — Contractor Licensing
  2. WV Code Chapter 21 Article 11 — Contractor Licensing Act
  3. WV State Fire Marshal — Electrician Licensing
  4. WV Division of Labor — Plumbing Licensing
  5. WV Division of Labor — HVAC Technician Licensing
  6. PSI test-taker program directory — search for West Virginia contractor examinations
  7. West Virginia Contractor Licensing Act — definitions and thresholds
  8. West Virginia Contractor Licensing Act — qualifying and compliance affidavit
  9. West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board rule, 28 CSR 2
  10. West Virginia Department of Agriculture — pesticide licensing requirements
  11. West Virginia Pesticide Control Act — pesticide application businesses
  12. West Virginia DEP — Construction Stormwater General Permit
  13. City of Charleston — contractor licenses and permits

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.