Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

Kansas Electrician License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

Kansas does not issue a statewide electrician or electrical-contractor credential. Electrical licensing and permit requirements are local, so verify the project authority before doing work. Johnson County Contractor Licensing (JCCL) provides a documented local example: its Class DE Electrical Contractor license authorizes electric services and requires a qualifying individual. The local contractor license is not a statewide electrician card or a guarantee of acceptance by another Kansas jurisdiction.

Regulatory Body

Kansas — No Statewide Contractor Licensing (Municipal Authorities) (KS-LOCAL) administers the credential or scope-specific rules discussed here under No statewide contractor licensing statute. Authority flows from Kansas home-rule cities under Kan. Const. art. 12 §5 and counties under K.S.A. 19-101a, enforced through municipal building codes adopted from the International Code Council.. Whether that pathway applies depends on the work scope and conditions explained below. Kansas has no state contractor board for general construction, electrical, plumbing, or mechanical trades. Licensing, testing, bonding, and enforcement are handled entirely by individual municipalities and counties. Wichita (Office of Central Inspection), Overland Park (Building Safety Division), the Unified Government of Wyandotte County / Kansas City Kansas, and Topeka (Development Services) operate the dominant programs, with Lawrence, Olathe, Lenexa, Manhattan, and Johnson County operating their own independent programs.

  • Official portal: https://www.kansas.gov/
  • Address: Varies by municipality (Wichita, Overland Park, Kansas City KS, Topeka, Lawrence, Olathe, and other home-rule cities)
  • Phone: Wichita Office of Central Inspection: (316) 268-4481 | Overland Park Building Safety: (913) 895-6225 | KCK Unified Government Neighborhood Resource Center: (913) 573-8600 | Topeka Development Services: (785) 368-3704

Eligibility Requirements

This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. JCCL’s current new-license instructions do not state a Kansas residency requirement. They require a Secretary of State certificate of good standing when applicable.

Good moral character

JCCL requires a company to designate a qualifying individual and submit the required qualification, insurance, and business documents. Check the project jurisdiction for additional local rules.

Background investigation

JCCL’s published DE new-license checklist does not list a routine criminal-history or fingerprint submission.

Experience and Education

Plan to substantiate 4 years of There is no statewide experience requirement. For the JCCL Class DE electrical contractor license, the qualifying individual demonstrates qualification with a 75%+ approved standard-exam score or an eligible accredited bachelor’s degree; the published checklist does not state a separate hours requirement. with hard records. Payroll, tax, project logs, and supervisor verification are what the board relies on when it reviews the claim.

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • JCCL new-license application and qualifying-individual government-issued identification
  • Approved ICC/Prometric examination result of 75% or higher, or eligible degree transcript
  • ACORD general-liability certificate and workers’ compensation certificate or notarized waiver
  • Secretary of State certificate of good standing, if applicable

Education substitution

For JCCL DE, an eligible accredited bachelor’s degree may serve as the published alternative to the standard examination; the published page does not describe an apprenticeship-hours substitution.

Exam Requirements

Testing provider or authority: No state exam. JCCL recognizes ICC and Prometric (or former ETS subsidiary) standard examinations; ICC Kansas (Johnson County) examinations are administered through Pearson VUE.. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:

  • JCCL Class DE — ICC Standard Master Electrician, Exam 554/KGD — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score 75%

Examination fee: JCCL does not set the examination fee on its licensing page; obtain the current charge from ICC/Pearson VUE or the approved testing provider.

Retake policy: Use the current ICC/Pearson VUE candidate bulletin for scheduling and retake rules. JCCL requires a 75% or higher approved standard-exam score.

Insurance and Bonds

This credential carries no state-level surety bond requirement under the cited sources. Individual jobs may still trigger a permit or public-works bond, which should be verified before bidding.

General liability

JCCL requires an ACORD general-liability certificate naming its office as certificate holder. Its published DE new-license page does not state a minimum limit or a contractor license bond.

Workers' compensation

JCCL requires workers’ compensation coverage only if the company has employees; otherwise it requires a notarized waiver with the application.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
Application$100
Initial license$225
Renewal (every year)$225

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Kansas electrician.

Renewal and Continuing Education

Expect to renew the Kansas Electrical Contractor (Local Licensing — Johnson County example) every year. Renewal currently costs $225. JCCL’s current renewal fee is $225 for the DE license. Confirm the renewal date and rules for every other project jurisdiction separately.

Continuing education: For JCCL, each qualifying individual must complete at least eight hours of continuing education per license classification each calendar year.

Downloadable Asset

2026 Kansas Electrician License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.

Download the PDF roadmap →

Reciprocity

Kansas does not accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

There is no statewide electrician credential to reciprocate. An approved standard examination can support the JCCL DE application, but the company must still meet JCCL’s local application, insurance, fee, and annual education requirements. Confirm other jurisdictions separately.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Electrician license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Electrician Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Kansas's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Confirm the project jurisdiction. Kansas has no statewide electrical-contractor license. Ask the city or county issuing the permit what local credential is required.
  2. Qualify the designated individual. For JCCL DE, provide qualifying-individual identification and either a 75%+ approved standard-exam score or eligible degree documentation.
  3. Prepare the company documents. Obtain the required ACORD general-liability certificate, workers’ compensation certificate or notarized waiver, and Secretary of State good-standing certificate if applicable.
  4. Submit the JCCL application and fees. New applicants pay a $100 application fee and $225 license fee for the DE classification.
  5. Maintain the local license. Renew annually and ensure the qualifying individual completes eight hours of JCCL-approved CE for the DE classification each calendar year.

Application Checklist

The most critical documents or confirmations the applicant should have in hand before filing with KS-LOCAL:

Common Filing Mistakes

Drawn from the board instructions and sources cited on this page, the pitfalls below are the ones most likely to slow down or sink a Kansas Electrician application.

Assuming a state license exists

Kansas has no statewide electrical-contractor license. Confirm the city or county rule at the project address before investing in a local application.

Assuming one local license covers Kansas

A local credential is not statewide. Verify the requirement with each authority having jurisdiction.

Using an unapproved examination

For JCCL DE, use an approved standard examination and retain evidence of the 75%+ score, or submit the eligible degree documentation.

Missing the Johnson County multi-city program

JCCL is a substantial local program, but the project jurisdiction—not a statewide rule—determines whether it is accepted.

Letting any single city lapse

JCCL requires annual renewal and eight CE hours per classification; other jurisdictions can use different renewal schedules.

Study and Reference Materials

These are the preparation and reference materials tied to this credential — cited by the regulator or widely used by applicants. CLR earns nothing from listing them.

  • ICC Kansas (Johnson County) candidate bulletin — International Code Council. Use the current bulletin for the DE Standard Master Electrician examination.
  • Johnson County Contractor Licensing — new license types — Johnson County, Kansas. Current DE classification, application, fee, and insurance checklist.

Other Kansas Trade Licenses

CLR covers other Kansas trades as well — the published guides below may be more relevant:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Kansas have a state electrician license?

No. Kansas does not issue a statewide electrician or electrical-contractor license. The city or county with project jurisdiction determines whether a local license, registration, or other permit condition applies.

What does Johnson County require for an electrical contractor?

JCCL Class DE authorizes electric services. Its qualifying individual must submit an approved 75%+ standard-exam result or an eligible accredited bachelor’s degree, plus the company’s required insurance and business documents.

Do Kansas cities accept the ICC exam?

JCCL recognizes ICC and other approved standard examinations. Its listed DE examination is ICC Standard Master Electrician, Exam 554/KGD, with a 75% passing score.

Do I need a license in every Kansas city where I work?

Check each project jurisdiction. A local credential is not a statewide license, and another city or county can have a different permit and licensing rule.

Does Kansas reciprocate electrician credentials?

There is no statewide reciprocity because there is no statewide electrical credential. JCCL may accept qualifying standard examinations, but that is not automatic reciprocal licensing.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. State of Kansas — kansas.gov
  2. City of Wichita — Office of Central Inspection
  3. City of Overland Park — Building Safety
  4. Unified Government of Wyandotte County / Kansas City, Kansas
  5. City of Topeka — Development Services
  6. City of Lawrence — Building Safety Division
  7. Johnson County Contractor Licensing (multi-city JoCo program)
  8. Johnson County Contractor Licensing — new license types, fees, and application requirements
  9. Johnson County Contractor Licensing — approved examinations
  10. Johnson County Contractor Licensing — annual continuing education

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.