Colorado Electrician License Requirements (2026)
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04
Colorado regulates electrical work statewide through the State Electrical Board. The Board licenses Residential Wiremen, Journeyman Electricians, and Master Electricians, and registers Electrical Contractors. The individual license and the business registration are distinct: a company offering electrical-contracting services must be registered, while the qualifying Master is responsible for supervision of that company’s electrical work.
Regulatory Body
Under Colorado Revised Statutes Title 12, Article 115, Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies — State Electrical Board (DORA) is the body that issues this license and enforces compliance with it. The State Electrical Board licenses individual electricians, registers electrical contractors and apprentices, approves licensing examinations, and regulates electrical work statewide.
- Official portal: https://dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical
Eligibility Requirements
This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. Article 115 does not state a Colorado-residency prerequisite for these credentials. Follow the Board’s current application and identity-verification instructions.
Good moral character
Use the Board’s current application disclosures and review process. This guide does not claim a separate, statewide “good moral character” test not stated in Article 115.
Background investigation
Confirm any current disclosure or background-document request with DORA when applying; do not assume that a criminal-history check is a universal statutory prerequisite.
Experience and Education
The applicant must document and verify at least 4 years of Journeyman: 8,000 hours over at least four years of qualifying apprenticeship or practical electrical experience, including 2,000 hours over at least two years in commercial, industrial, or substantially similar work, plus at least 288 hours of qualifying training. Master: meet one of the statutory routes, including one additional year of practical planning, layout, supervision, and installation experience beyond the Journeyman practical-experience requirement.. Keep payroll, tax, project, or supervisor records to support the claim, as the board can request proof for any period within its lookback window.
Accepted proof of experience or eligibility
- Written evidence of qualifying apprenticeship or practical electrical experience required by the Board
- Documentation of the required Journeyman training hours and any claimed academic, military, or photovoltaic-installation training credit
- For Master applicants, documentation supporting the selected statutory education-and-experience route
Education substitution
For Journeyman and Residential Wireman applicants, the statute gives one year of practical-experience credit to graduates of an accredited electrical-engineering program or a Board-approved community-college or trade-school program. The Board may award credit for other academic, military, photovoltaic, or substantially similar training under its rules.
Exam Requirements
An examination applies to the pathway described here. Individual parts and format details are not established in this record; confirm them with the authority. Provider or process notes: Colorado State Electrical Board or its Board-approved designee
Examination fee: Use DORA’s current fee schedule and the current examination scheduling instructions.
Retake policy: Article 115 requires Board-approved licensing examinations and lets the Board or its designee conduct and grade them. Confirm the current examination format, passing score, fee, and retake process with DORA rather than relying on a historic vendor figure.
Insurance and Bonds
The cited materials impose no contractor license bond for this credential. Bear in mind that specific contracts, permits, or public works can still require their own bonds.
General liability
Article 115 does not set a statewide general-liability-policy amount or surety-bond amount for an individual electrician license. A local permit authority, owner, or contract may impose separate insurance requirements.
Workers' compensation
An Electrical Contractor registration requires evidence of compliance with applicable Colorado workers’ compensation and unemployment-compensation laws. Confirm the business’s specific obligations with the appropriate agencies and the Board.
Additional financial requirements
Article 115’s contractor-registration provision requires the applicable fee, compliance evidence, and a qualifying Master arrangement; it does not establish a general financial-statement requirement for individual licenses.
Fee Schedule
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | No separate amount recorded; confirm in the fee guidance |
| Initial license | No separate amount recorded; confirm in the fee guidance |
| Renewal cycle varies by jurisdiction | No separate amount recorded; confirm in the fee guidance |
To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Colorado electrician.
Renewal and Continuing Education
The Colorado Electrician Licenses and Electrical Contractor Registration does not have a single statewide renewal cycle; follow the issuing board or local jurisdiction schedule. The cited materials name no distinct statewide fee for renewal. Article 115 incorporates the renewal, expiration, reinstatement, and fee schedules in section 12-20-202. Confirm the credential-specific due date and current fee with DORA.
Continuing education: Except for the initial renewal or reinstatement after a license issued through a required examination, complete 24 hours of continuing education since the last issuance, renewal, or reinstatement. The Board’s rules must include National Electrical Code coursework and core competencies.
Reciprocity
Colorado does not accept the NASCLA Accredited Examination for this classification.
| Reciprocal State | Accepted Exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified. | ||
Colorado law permits licensure by endorsement for substantially equivalent out-of-state credentials and reciprocity only where the Board has an equivalent-license agreement. Do not assume a neighboring state is a current reciprocity partner; verify the current DORA process before applying.
Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Electrician license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.
Electrician Licensing in Neighboring States
Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Colorado's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:
- Arizona Electrician License Requirements — Arizona Electrical Contractor (C-11, R-11, or CR-11)
- Kansas Electrician License Requirements — Kansas Electrical Contractor (Local Licensing — Johnson County example)
- Nebraska Electrician License Requirements — Nebraska Electrical Contractor and Journeyman Electrician Licenses
- New Mexico Electrician License Requirements — New Mexico EE-98J Journeyman Electrician / EE-98 Electrical Contractor
- Oklahoma Electrician License Requirements — Oklahoma Journeyman Electrician and Unlimited Electrical Contractor
- Utah Electrician License Requirements — Utah Master Electrician and Journeyman Electrician
- Wyoming Electrician License Requirements — Wyoming Journeyman and Master Electrician Licenses
Step-by-Step Application Roadmap
- Choose the credential that matches the work. Residential Wireman is limited to one- through four-family dwellings. Journeyman and Master applicants must meet the separate statutory experience and examination requirements.
- Register and supervise apprentices correctly. When an electrical contractor employs an apprentice, it must register the apprentice with the Board within 30 days. Apprentices may do covered wiring only under direct supervision of a licensed electrician.
- Document Journeyman eligibility. Document 8,000 hours over at least four years, including the statutory commercial/industrial component, and 288 hours of qualifying training within the statutory time frame.
- Apply for and pass the Board-approved examination. The Board reviews evidence of eligibility and provides licensing examinations for Master, Journeyman, and Residential Wireman applicants.
- Meet a statutory Master route. The standard experience route requires at least one additional year of practical planning, layout, supervision, and installation experience beyond the Journeyman practical-experience requirement. Educational routes are also set out in the statute.
- Register the business before offering electrical contracting. An Electrical Contractor must register with the Board. The business must have an owner-Master supervising all electrical work or employ at least one licensed Master in charge; one Master may be named for only one contractor and must be actively engaged full time.
Application Checklist
The most critical documents or confirmations the applicant should have in hand before filing with DORA:
Progress is saved in this browser, so you can return to this checklist while your application is in flight.
Common Filing Mistakes
Working from the cited board instructions, here are the snags most likely to trip up a Colorado Electrician filing.
Counting only residential experience toward Journeyman
The Journeyman statute separately requires 2,000 hours over at least two years in commercial, industrial, or substantially similar work.
Using the old four-year training window
SB25-165 changed the applicable window for the 288 training hours to the last eight years of the applicant’s training, apprenticeship, or practical experience, subject to the statute’s NEC-update provision.
Treating the Master license as a company registration
A business offering electrical contracting must register separately and maintain the required qualifying-Master relationship.
Borrowing a qualifying Master
A Master can be named for only one contractor, must be actively engaged full time with it, and must notify the Board within 15 days after ending that role.
Assuming reciprocity based on geography
Use DORA’s current endorsement or reciprocity process. Do not rely on an unsourced list of neighboring states.
Study and Reference Materials
What follows are the regulator-cited and commonly used preparation references for this trade. They appear here for convenience only; CLR takes no compensation for them.
- Colorado Revised Statutes Title 12, Article 115 — Colorado General Assembly. Primary source for credential, experience, contractor-registration, endorsement, apprentice, and continuing-education rules.
- Current State Electrical Board examination and continuing-education instructions — Colorado DORA. Use DORA’s current materials for the approved examination format, current code references, course providers, fee, and renewal deadline.
Other Colorado Trade Licenses
If the Electrician license is not the right fit, the following published Colorado trade guides are also covered by CLR:
- Colorado General Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Plumber License Requirements
- Colorado HVAC Technician License Requirements
- Colorado Roofing Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Painting Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Landscaping Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Masonry Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Concrete Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Carpentry Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Solar Installer License Requirements
- Colorado Low-Voltage Technician License Requirements
- Colorado Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Home Inspector License Requirements
- Colorado Pool Contractor License Requirements
- Colorado Handyman License Requirements
- Colorado Pest Control License Requirements
- Colorado Septic Contractor License Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
How much experience does Colorado require for a Journeyman Electrician?
The statute requires 8,000 hours over at least four years of qualifying apprenticeship or practical experience. At least 2,000 hours over at least two years must be commercial, industrial, or substantially similar work, and the applicant must complete at least 288 qualifying training hours.
Does Colorado require two additional years as a Journeyman to become a Master?
Not as the ordinary statutory experience route. That route requires at least one year of practical planning, layout, supervision, and installation experience beyond the practical-experience requirement for Journeyman licensure. The statute also provides separate education-and-experience routes.
Is an Electrical Contractor registration the same as a Master Electrician license?
No. The Master credential is an individual license. The business must separately register as an Electrical Contractor and have an owner-Master supervising its work or employ a licensed Master in charge.
Does Colorado have electrician reciprocity?
Colorado permits endorsement for substantially equivalent credentials and reciprocity where the Board has an equivalent-license agreement. Confirm any current agreement directly with DORA before relying on it.
What continuing education does Colorado require?
Except for the first renewal or reinstatement of a license issued after a required licensing examination, Article 115 requires 24 hours of continuing education since issuance, renewal, or reinstatement. Board rules must include National Electrical Code coursework and core competencies.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- Colorado DORA — State Electrical Board
- Colorado Revised Statutes Title 12 — current titles download
- Colorado SB25-165 — Licensure of Electricians
Verified 2026-09-04 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03
Report a correction to this guide
Corrections and presentation updates
- : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
- : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
- : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.
