Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

Iowa Painting License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

Iowa does not issue a statewide painting trade license or painting examination. A painting business doing construction work in Iowa normally registers under Iowa Code chapter 91C once it earns at least $2,000 annually from that work. The statute exempts a person below that annual amount and work performed on the person’s own property; it also contains a narrow fee exemption for certain small self-employed contractors. Registration is not a substitute for a city’s permits or local business requirements. Painting that disturbs painted surfaces in pre-1978 target housing or child-occupied facilities can also trigger Iowa’s EPA-authorized Renovation, Repair and Painting (RRP) program requirements.

Federal requirement: EPA Lead RRP Rule

Renovation, repair, or painting that disturbs paint in pre-1978 housing is regulated nationwide under the federal EPA Lead RRP Rule — regardless of whether Iowa licenses this trade. See our complete EPA RRP Lead Certification guide for who needs firm and renovator certification, what it costs, and how renewal works.

Regulatory Body

Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing — Contractor Registration (DIAL) administers the credential or scope-specific rules discussed here under Iowa Code ch. 91C. Whether that pathway applies depends on the work scope and conditions explained below. DIAL administers Iowa’s statewide construction-contractor registration. The registration is not a painting trade license; municipalities may separately require local permits, business approvals, or contractor registration.

Eligibility Requirements

This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. Iowa Code chapter 91C does not impose a residency requirement. An out-of-state contractor must file a $25,000 surety bond unless it instead provides a statement that it is Iowa DOT prequalified under Iowa Code § 314.1.

Good moral character

Chapter 91C focuses on registration conditions, not a painting competency or character examination.

Background investigation

No statewide painting-trade fingerprint or background-check condition is stated in chapter 91C. A local authority may use its own application requirements.

Experience and Education

There is no published year count for this credential in the cited sources. What actually controls eligibility is No Iowa painting experience prerequisite or statewide painting examination is stated in chapter 91C..

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • Chapter 91C contractor registration application
  • Workers’ compensation coverage, relief, or no-coverage statement
  • Iowa unemployment employer-account or special-contractor number
  • Out-of-state $25,000 surety bond or Iowa DOT-prequalification statement when applicable

Education substitution

Not applicable to state contractor registration.

Exam Requirements

No statewide examination is specified for this pathway. The controlling process is: No Iowa statewide painting trade examination

Examination fee: No state painting-exam fee. RRP training and certification requirements are separate and apply only to covered lead-safe renovation work.

Retake policy: Not applicable to Chapter 91C registration.

Insurance and Bonds

A contractor license surety bond of $25,000, on the DIAL's prescribed form, is a precondition to issuance.

General liability

Chapter 91C does not state a statewide commercial-general-liability minimum for painting contractors. A customer, general contractor, insurer, or municipality may require coverage separately.

Workers' compensation

For registration, file annual evidence of Iowa workers’ compensation coverage, relief from the requirement, or a statement that coverage is not required. The insurer must notify DIAL when a policy is canceled.

Additional financial requirements

Out-of-state contractors file a continuous $25,000 surety bond with DIAL unless they provide the Iowa DOT-prequalification statement allowed by § 91C.2. The bond secures state tax, unemployment, department fees, and penalties—not ordinary project-performance claims.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
Application$50
Initial licenseNo separate amount recorded; confirm in the fee guidance
Renewal (every year)$50

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Iowa painting.

Renewal and Continuing Education

Renewal of the Iowa Construction Contractor Registration (Painting Work) comes due every year. As cited, the renewal fee stands at $50. The statute permits a registration fee of no more than $50 per year. Keep workers’ compensation and unemployment information current and report changed registration information promptly.

Continuing education: Chapter 91C does not state a statewide painting continuing-education condition. RRP has its own certification and refresher rules for covered lead-safe work.

Downloadable Asset

2026 Iowa Painting License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.

Download the PDF roadmap →

Reciprocity

The NASCLA Accredited Examination is not accepted by Iowa for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

There is no Iowa painting trade credential or examination for another state to reciprocate. Out-of-state contractors follow the same Chapter 91C registration conditions, including the bond or DOT-prequalification alternative.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Painting license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Painting Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Iowa's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Determine whether Chapter 91C applies. Registration normally applies once the business earns at least $2,000 annually from Iowa construction work. Work on the contractor’s own property and the statutory small-contractor exceptions require a careful reading of § 91C.1.
  2. Prepare workers’ compensation and unemployment information. Provide the annual workers’ compensation evidence, relief, or statement required by § 91C.2, and obtain an Iowa unemployment employer-account number or special-contractor number.
  3. Address the out-of-state condition when applicable. File the $25,000 surety bond with DIAL, or provide the permitted statement that the business is prequalified to bid Iowa DOT projects.
  4. Register with DIAL. File complete and accurate contractor information and the current annual registration fee, which may not exceed $50 under § 91C.4.
  5. Check the project municipality. Confirm local permits, contractor or business registration, code requirements, and inspection processes with the city or county authority having jurisdiction.
  6. Use lead-safe certification where the work is covered. For covered renovation that disturbs painted surfaces in pre-1978 target housing or child-occupied facilities, meet the applicable Iowa-authorized RRP program’s firm, renovator, work-practice, and pre-renovation education requirements.
  7. Maintain the annual registration conditions. Renew each year and promptly update changed registration information. Loss of a required registration condition can lead to revocation after DIAL’s process.

Application Checklist

The items below are the ones worth confirming before the application is filed with DIAL:

Common Filing Mistakes

Based on the board's own instructions and the sources cited here, the problems below are what most often stall a Iowa Painting application.

Treating registration as a painting competency license

Chapter 91C is a contractor-registration system. It does not create a state painting exam, experience threshold, or trade license.

Using a per-project $2,000 test

The statutory definition uses annual earnings from construction work, not an individual project value.

Assuming every out-of-state contractor must post the bond

The statute permits an alternative statement for a contractor prequalified to bid Iowa DOT projects.

Calling the state bond a project bond

The § 91C.7 bond secures specified state liabilities. It does not replace a project, payment, or performance bond requested by a customer.

Overlooking regulated lead renovation

For covered pre-1978 work, painting preparation and surface disturbance can trigger Iowa’s RRP program even though Iowa has no painting trade license.

Study and Reference Materials

The references below are either cited by the board, used during the application, or standard preparation for the trade. They are listed purely for convenience — CLR earns no commission on any of them.

  • Iowa Code chapter 91C — Iowa Legislature. Registration threshold, conditions, out-of-state bond alternative, fee ceiling, and enforcement.
  • EPA RRP Program for Contractors — U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Scope and lead-safe requirements for covered painting and renovation work.
  • Local building and business requirements — Authority having jurisdiction. Iowa’s statewide registration does not replace local approvals.

Other Iowa Trade Licenses

If the Painting license is not the right fit, the following published Iowa trade guides are also covered by CLR:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Iowa have a painting contractor license?

Iowa does not issue a statewide painting trade license. Chapter 91C requires qualifying construction contractors to register, but it does not impose a painting trade exam.

When does Iowa contractor registration apply?

A person who earns at least $2,000 annually from Iowa construction work is generally a contractor under chapter 91C. The statute also exempts work on the person’s own property and contains a limited small self-employed fee exemption.

Do out-of-state painting contractors need a bond?

An out-of-state contractor must file a $25,000 surety bond with DIAL unless it provides a statement that it is prequalified to bid Iowa DOT projects. The bond is not a general project-performance bond.

Does Iowa require general liability insurance for painting registration?

Chapter 91C does not set a statewide general-liability minimum. Workers’ compensation compliance or an allowed statement is a registration condition; local authorities and contracts can independently require liability coverage.

Does lead-safe painting apply in Iowa?

Iowa operates an EPA-authorized RRP program. Covered renovation that disturbs painted surfaces in pre-1978 target housing or child-occupied facilities requires the applicable lead-safe firm, renovator, and work-practice compliance.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. Iowa Code ch. 91C — construction contractor registration
  2. Iowa DIAL
  3. EPA — Renovation, Repair and Painting Program contractors
  4. EPA — RRP program overview and authorized programs

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.