Skip to content
CLR

Illinois Solar License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

Illinois does not use a general statewide solar-contractor license. Instead, the Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) requires a Distributed Generation (DG) Installer Certificate for an entity that installs a distributed-generation facility, other than a self-installer. For solar PV, the certification is a statewide condition before installation—not a substitute for the electrical, building, business, bonding, or permit rules that the relevant municipality applies. The ICC rules require every installation to be performed by, or under the direct supervision of, a qualified person. Illinois Shines participation is separate: an installer can work as an Approved Vendor’s Designee; not every installer must itself become an Approved Vendor.

Regulatory Body

This license is issued and enforced by Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) pursuant to 220 ILCS 5/16-128A; 83 Ill. Adm. Code Part 468. The ICC certifies distributed-generation installer entities. Municipal authorities retain their own electrical, contractor, permit, and bonding requirements.

Eligibility Requirements

This guide does not establish a minimum applicant age; confirm any age requirement with the issuing authority. Check the current application for identification and tax-number requirements. The applicant is the installing entity. The ICC rules require that entity to be licensed to do business in Illinois; use the current ICC application materials for entity and designated-agent details.

Good moral character

The certificate holder must comply with the Act and Part 468. The Commission may suspend, revoke, or fine a certificate holder for noncompliance.

Background investigation

Part 468 does not state a statewide solar-PV criminal-background or fingerprint requirement. A municipality may have its own application disclosures.

Experience and Education

There is no published year count for this credential in the cited sources. What actually controls eligibility is A qualified person must either have performed five installations of the same distributed-generation technology, or complete a listed hands-on/laboratory training route and receive its certification. Listed routes include a U.S. Department of Labor journeyman-electrician apprenticeship, NABCEP, UL, or ETA DG technician certification, or an associate degree from an ICCB-approved community college..

Accepted proof of experience or eligibility

  • ICC application documentation showing a qualified person
  • Training certificate or affidavit documenting five installations of the same DG technology
  • Current entity authorization to do business in Illinois

Education substitution

The Part 468 training and certification routes are alternatives to the five-installation route; NABCEP is one option, not a universal prerequisite.

Exam Requirements

This credential carries no state-administered written exam under the cited sources. What governs instead is: No Illinois solar-PV trade examination is specified for the ICC DG Installer Certificate

Examination fee: $50 ICC certificate application fee. A chosen training or third-party certification route can have separate provider fees.

Retake policy: Not applicable to the ICC certificate; follow the selected training or certification provider’s rules.

Insurance and Bonds

The cited state source set does not require a contractor license surety bond for this credential. Contractors should still confirm project-specific bond, permit-bond, or public-works bond requirements before bidding.

General liability

Part 468 does not state a fixed ICC commercial-general-liability minimum. The certificate holder must comply with applicable municipal licensing and bonding requirements, which can include insurance requirements.

Workers' compensation

Maintain workers’ compensation coverage when required by Illinois law for the business and its employees.

Additional financial requirements

No fixed statewide contractor bond or financial-statement requirement is stated in Part 468 for this certificate.

Fee Schedule

FeeAmount
Application (non-refundable)$50
Initial licenseNo separate state fee
Renewal (every year)No separate state fee

To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Illinois solar.

Renewal and Continuing Education

Renewal of the Illinois Commerce Commission Distributed Generation Installer Certification (Solar PV) comes due every year. The cited state source set does not list a separate statewide renewal fee. Annual recertification information is due April 1. The current Part 468 fee section lists a $50 application fee but no separate annual recertification charge.

Continuing education: Part 468 does not state a statewide continuing-education hour requirement for annual ICC recertification. Maintain the facts and documentation required by the current recertification form.

Reciprocity

The NASCLA Accredited Examination is not accepted by Illinois for this classification.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

Part 468 uses its own qualified-person routes and does not identify a state-to-state reciprocity program. An out-of-state installer should apply directly and meet the Illinois entity, qualified-person, and local requirements.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares Solar license requirements in every state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Solar Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Illinois's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:

Step-by-Step Application Roadmap

  1. Identify the actual installer entity. The ICC certificate is held by the entity that installs the DG facility, except for the statutory self-installer exception.
  2. Choose a qualified-person route. Document five same-technology installations or use one of the Part 468 hands-on training and certification routes.
  3. Ensure the entity may do business in Illinois. Part 468 requires the certificate holder to be licensed to do business in Illinois.
  4. Apply to the ICC. File the Distributed Generation Installer Certificate application and the $50 application fee with the required qualified-person documentation.
  5. Meet local electrical and building requirements. Obtain the electrical/contractor credentials, permits, inspections, and any bonding required by the authority having jurisdiction. Illinois does not make the ICC certificate a substitute for those local approvals.
  6. Complete utility interconnection requirements. Use the serving utility’s current interconnection process; ICC certification is not the utility interconnection approval.
  7. Use the correct Illinois Shines role when applicable. Illinois Shines payments and REC contracts go to Approved Vendors. A DG installer working on program projects is registered as the applicable Approved Vendor’s Designee and must have an active ICC certificate.
  8. Recertify annually. File the annual ICC recertification information by April 1 and keep installation documentation for at least three calendar years after the year created.

Application Checklist

The most critical documents or confirmations the applicant should have in hand before filing with ICC:

Common Filing Mistakes

Based on the board's own instructions and the sources cited here, the problems below are what most often stall a Illinois Solar application.

Calling the ICC certificate an electrical-contractor license

It is a statewide DG-installer certification. It does not replace the municipality’s electrical, contractor, permit, inspection, or bonding requirements.

Treating NABCEP as the only route

Part 468 provides several alternative qualified-person routes. Match the documentation to the same DG technology being installed.

Missing the annual April 1 filing

Certificate holders must make the annual recertification filing by April 1; a filing more than 30 days late can trigger enforcement.

Skipping installation records

Keep the Part 468 installation documentation for at least three calendar years after the year it was created.

Using the wrong Illinois Shines role

The Approved Vendor, not every installer, receives program payments and REC contracts. Confirm whether the installer is properly registered as that vendor’s Designee.

Study and Reference Materials

What follows are the regulator-cited and commonly used preparation references for this trade. They appear here for convenience only; CLR takes no compensation for them.

  • 83 Ill. Adm. Code Part 468Illinois General Assembly / JCAR. Certificate scope, qualified-person routes, application materials, annual recertification, and recordkeeping.
  • ICC Distributed Generation Installer Certification formsIllinois Commerce Commission. Use current certificate, designation-agent, and annual recertification forms.
  • Illinois Shines Program GuidebookIllinois Power Agency / Program Administrator. Read before joining the program as an Approved Vendor or Designee.
  • Local electrical and building code materialsAuthority having jurisdiction. Local permits and electrical credential rules remain independently applicable.

Other Illinois Trade Licenses

If the Solar license is not the right fit, the following published Illinois trade guides are also covered by CLR:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Illinois have a state solar contractor license?

Illinois does not issue a general solar-contractor license. For a non-self installer of a distributed-generation facility, the installer entity must hold an ICC Distributed Generation Installer Certificate before installation. Local electrical, contractor, and permit rules still apply.

Is NABCEP required for the ICC certificate?

No. NABCEP certification is one listed qualified-person route. Part 468 also allows five documented same-technology installations, certain DOL apprenticeship and UL or ETA certifications, or a qualifying ICCB-approved associate degree.

What does the ICC application cost?

Part 468 lists a $50 application fee. It does not list a separate annual recertification charge; training, third-party certification, local approval, and project costs are separate.

When is ICC recertification due?

The certificate holder files the annual recertification information by April 1. A filing more than 30 days late can lead to suspension or other Commission action.

Do I need to be an Illinois Shines Approved Vendor?

Only Approved Vendors receive Illinois Shines REC contracts and payments. An installing company may instead work as an Approved Vendor’s registered Designee; for DG projects, an Installer Designee needs an active ICC DG Installer Certificate.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
  2. Illinois Department of Public Health — Plumbing Program
  3. City of Chicago — Department of Buildings Licensing
  4. City of Chicago Municipal Code Title 4 Chapter 4-36 (General Contractors)
  5. Illinois Plumbing License Law (225 ILCS 320)
  6. 220 ILCS 5/16-128A — distributed-generation installer certification
  7. 83 Ill. Adm. Code Part 468 — Distributed Generation Installer Certification
  8. Illinois Commerce Commission — Distributed Generation Installer Certification
  9. Illinois Shines — Become an Approved Vendor or Designee
  10. Illinois Shines 2026–27 Program Guidebook

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.