Idaho Fire Sprinkler License Requirements (2026)
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04
Idaho requires a statewide Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor license through the State Fire Marshal in the Department of Insurance. The license covers underground systems from the water main as well as installation, remodels, tenant improvements, inspection, and maintenance of fire sprinkler systems. An applicant must either pass the state exam and document four separate systems with 200 or more installed heads, or provide a NICET Level III certification in Water-Based Systems. The application also requires liability insurance, a $2,000 bond naming the State Fire Marshal as obligee, and a $400 application fee. Local authorities may impose more stringent fire-and-life-safety requirements and maintain project permitting and approval roles.
Regulatory Body
This license is issued and enforced by Idaho State Fire Marshal — Department of Insurance (Idaho SFM) pursuant to IDAPA 18.08.02 — Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractors; Idaho Code §§ 41-253 through 41-269. The Idaho State Fire Marshal licenses fire protection sprinkler contractors, administers the state exam route, receives plans in areas within its review process, and publishes license status information.
- Official portal: https://doi.idaho.gov/state-fire-marshal/
- Address: 700 W State Street, Boise, ID 83702
- Phone: (208) 334-4377
Eligibility Requirements
Applicants must be at least 18 years old. Applicants must provide a Social Security Number. The current State Fire Marshal license page does not state an Idaho residency requirement. Use the application’s current business-entity instructions for an out-of-state company.
Good moral character
The rule allows denial, suspension, revocation, or nonrenewal for specified misconduct, including fraud, bad faith, material misrepresentation, certain contract failures, and felony convictions.
Background investigation
The current State Fire Marshal checklist does not list a fingerprint background check. Do not add a separate criminal-history requirement that the current application page does not state.
Experience and Education
No fixed number of years of experience is set out in the cited sources for this credential; instead, the controlling requirement is There are two alternative qualification routes: pass the State Fire Marshal exam and document that the applicant supervised or installed at least four separate sprinkler systems of more than 200 heads each; or provide proof of NICET Level III certification in Water-Based Systems (the rule also recognizes equivalent certification)..
Accepted proof of experience or eligibility
- For the experience-and-exam route: date installed, address, scope or description, and authority having jurisdiction approval for each of four separate systems with 200 or more heads
- For the certification route: copy of NICET Level III Water-Based Systems certification or current equivalent evidence accepted by the State Fire Marshal
- Completed State Fire Marshal Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor application
Education substitution
NICET Level III Water-Based Systems is an alternative qualification route; the current rule does not set a separate degree-for-experience substitution.
Exam Requirements
Testing provider or authority: Idaho State Fire Marshal. The agency says applicants can schedule the contractor examination at its locations.. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:
- Idaho State Fire Marshal Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor examination (experience route) — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score: confirm in the current candidate bulletin
Examination fee: The rule lists a $25 examination fee, a $400 license fee, and a $100 annual renewal fee. The current State Fire Marshal application checklist directs applicants to submit a $400 application fee.
Retake policy: Confirm current examination scheduling and retake instructions with the State Fire Marshal; this guide does not retain an unsourced retake interval.
Insurance and Bonds
The Idaho SFM requires a $2,000 contractor license surety bond to be on file before the license will issue.
General liability
Before issuance, the contractor must maintain a comprehensive general liability policy from an insurer authorized to do business in Idaho with aggregate limits of at least $250,000. The State Fire Marshal’s current page requires a certificate of liability insurance naming the Idaho State Fire Marshal’s Office as certificate holder.
Workers' compensation
The rule lists failure to secure or maintain workers’ compensation insurance, when not authorized to self-insure, as a ground for action. Confirm the company’s current workers’ compensation obligation separately.
Additional financial requirements
No financial-statement requirement is stated. The financial-responsibility requirements are the $2,000 surety bond and the required liability policy.
Fee Schedule
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $400 |
| Examination | $25 |
| Initial license | $400 |
| Renewal (every year) | $100 |
To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Idaho fire sprinkler.
Renewal and Continuing Education
Renewal of the Idaho Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor License comes due every year. As cited, the renewal fee stands at $100. The license expires December 31 each year, regardless of issue month. A license in good standing may be renewed for one year on the prescribed form and payment of the $100 annual renewal fee.
Continuing education: The current rule and State Fire Marshal renewal information cited here do not state a fixed contractor CE-hour requirement.
Downloadable Asset
2026 Idaho Fire Sprinkler License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.
Download the PDF roadmap →Reciprocity
The NASCLA Accredited Examination is not accepted by Idaho for this classification.
| Reciprocal State | Accepted Exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified. | ||
The State Fire Marshal publishes the Idaho qualification routes described here. Do not assume a general reciprocity agreement or add a restriction on where a NICET credential was issued without written confirmation from the agency.
Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Fire Sprinkler license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.
Fire Sprinkler Licensing in Neighboring States
Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Idaho's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:
- Montana Fire Sprinkler License Requirements — Montana Fire Protection License — Fire Extinguishing Systems Endorsement
- Nevada Fire Sprinkler License Requirements — Nevada C-41a Automatic Fire Sprinkler Contractor and State Fire Marshal Type G License
- Oregon Fire Sprinkler License Requirements — Oregon Fire Sprinkler Contracting: CCB License and Project-Specific Approvals
- Utah Fire Sprinkler License Requirements — Utah S370 Fire Suppression Systems Contractor — Fire Sprinkler Scope
- Washington Fire Sprinkler License Requirements — Washington Fire Protection Sprinkler System Contractor License — State Fire Marshal
- Wyoming Fire Sprinkler License Requirements — Wyoming Fire Sprinkler Contractor Requirements — State Plan Review + Local Authority
Step-by-Step Application Roadmap
- Confirm that the proposed work is fire sprinkler work. The statewide credential covers underground systems from the water main, installation, remodels and tenant improvements, inspection, and maintenance of fire sprinkler systems.
- Choose the qualifying route. Either pass the State Fire Marshal exam and document four separate 200-plus-head systems, or submit NICET Level III Water-Based Systems certification.
- Collect the qualification documents. For each experience-route system, provide the date, address, scope, and AHJ approval. For the NICET route, provide a current certification copy.
- Secure the bond and liability coverage. Provide a $2,000 bond naming the State Fire Marshal as obligee and a liability-insurance certificate naming the Idaho State Fire Marshal’s Office as certificate holder. The rule’s aggregate liability minimum is $250,000.
- Submit the State Fire Marshal application and fee. File the complete application and $400 application fee. The agency states that it begins processing only after all required materials are received.
- Use the license number on business documents. The rule requires the contractor license number on written bids, proposals, offers, and shop and field installation drawings, and requires the license to be posted at the place of business.
- Obtain plan review and local approvals for each project. The State Fire Marshal receives plans by email for its review process and sends the stamped plans after approval. Always check with the authority having jurisdiction for local requirements; more stringent local fire/life-safety requirements control in a conflict.
- Renew before December 31. All licenses expire on December 31 regardless of the month issued. File the prescribed renewal application and fee to continue the license for another year.
Application Checklist
These are the pieces to lock down before filing with Idaho SFM:
Progress is saved in this browser, so you can return to this checklist while your application is in flight.
Common Filing Mistakes
Working from the cited board instructions, here are the snags most likely to trip up a Idaho Fire Sprinkler filing.
Using the wrong renewal fee
The initial license/application amount is $400, but the rule lists a $100 annual renewal fee. The license expires December 31 regardless of when issued.
Submitting incomplete experience-route projects
Four systems must each have 200 or more heads and include the installation date, address, scope, and AHJ approval. Incomplete descriptions delay the application.
Treating the bond premium as the bond amount
The required bond is $2,000; the price paid to a surety for that bond varies and is not a $2,000 state fee.
Overstating the insurance requirement
The state rule’s aggregate general-liability minimum is $250,000. A project owner or local authority may demand more, but that is separate from the statewide minimum.
Skipping local approval
A state contractor license does not override a stricter local fire/life-safety rule. Coordinate the actual project with the State Fire Marshal and local AHJ.
Study and Reference Materials
These are the preparation and reference materials tied to this credential — cited by the regulator or widely used by applicants. CLR earns nothing from listing them.
- IDAPA 18.08.02 — Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractors — Idaho State Fire Marshal. License qualification, fees, bond, insurance, local conflict, and renewal rule.
- Idaho State Fire Marshal Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor License page — Idaho Department of Insurance. Current application checklist, qualification routes, processing estimate, and plan-review information.
- NICET Water-Based Systems certification information — NICET. Technical qualification route recognized by Idaho.
Other Idaho Trade Licenses
Should the Fire Sprinkler path not apply, these other Idaho trade guides from CLR may help:
- Idaho General Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Electrician License Requirements
- Idaho Plumber License Requirements
- Idaho HVAC Technician License Requirements
- Idaho Roofing Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Painting Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Landscaping Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Masonry Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Concrete Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Carpentry Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Solar Installer License Requirements
- Idaho Low-Voltage Technician License Requirements
- Idaho Home Inspector License Requirements
- Idaho Pool Contractor License Requirements
- Idaho Handyman License Requirements
- Idaho Pest Control License Requirements
- Idaho Septic Contractor License Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
Who licenses fire sprinkler contractors in Idaho?
The Idaho State Fire Marshal in the Department of Insurance licenses fire protection sprinkler contractors statewide under IDAPA 18.08.02.
What are the Idaho qualification routes?
An applicant can pass the state exam and document four separate systems with at least 200 installed heads each, or provide NICET Level III certification in Water-Based Systems. The experience documentation must identify the date, address, scope, and approving AHJ.
How large is the bond?
The required license bond is at least $2,000 and must name the State Fire Marshal as obligee. The cost to buy the bond is different from its face amount.
How much insurance is required?
The rule requires at least $250,000 aggregate comprehensive general liability coverage from an insurer authorized in Idaho. The current agency checklist also requires a certificate naming the Idaho State Fire Marshal’s Office as certificate holder.
Can local requirements be stricter?
Yes. The fire-sprinkler contractor rule states that where local code, ordinance, or rule conflicts, the more stringent requirement providing the greatest fire and life safety applies. Confirm permits, plans, inspections, and local standards with the AHJ.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- Idaho Department of Insurance — Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractor License
- Idaho State Fire Marshal — statutes, rules, codes, and standards
- Idaho Administrative Rule 18.08.02 — Fire Protection Sprinkler Contractors
- Idaho State Fire Marshal — licensed sprinkler contractor list
Verified 2026-09-04 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03
Report a correction to this guide
Corrections and presentation updates
- : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
- : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
- : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.
