Skip to content
Contractor License Requirements

Tennessee Solar License Requirements (2026)

Gabriel Giner

By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04

Tennessee’s contractor classification outline recognizes S-Solar Panel Installation as a specialty classification. A Tennessee contractor license is generally required before bidding or contracting when a project totals $25,000 or more, including materials and labor. The specialty itself does not require a trade exam, but new contractor applicants must pass the Tennessee Business and Law exam. Photovoltaic electrical work is separately within the Electrical (CE) contracting classification; the Board says electrical prime and subcontractors must be licensed as contractors for electrical work. Confirm the appropriate classification for the full project scope and obtain permits from the responsible local or state electrical jurisdiction.

Who Regulates This Work

Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Department of Commerce and Insurance (TBLC) is the primary authority or official reference used for this guide. The controlling authority cited here is Tennessee Code Annotated Title 62 Chapter 6 (Contractors Licensing Act of 1994); Rules of the Board Chapter 0680. TBLC licenses general and specialty contractors statewide, sets monetary limits based on CPA-reviewed financial statements, administers the PSI examination program, and conducts disciplinary proceedings under T.C.A. Title 62 Chapter 6.

State and Local Eligibility Rules

There is no single statewide application for this work, so this guide does not impose a uniform applicant-age, identification, or tax-number rule. Check the business, specialty-trade, and local authorities that govern the actual project. Out-of-state entities must register to do business in Tennessee before applying; the Board does not state a Tennessee-residency requirement.

State-level applicant screening

The Contractor’s Affidavit requires explanations of complaints, convictions, and prior bidding when licensure was required.

Background-check requirements

The Board may require an interview when an application involves a complaint, conviction, or prior unlicensed bidding issue.

Experience and Scope Requirements

No single statewide year-based experience threshold governs the local or scope-specific path described here. The controlling requirement is The Board evaluates experience as part of the contractor application and monetary-limit decision; its current specialty outline does not state a universal three-year solar experience minimum..

Relevant records and local documents

  • Letter of Reference from a past client, employer, or code official
  • Reviewed or audited financial statement

Education and scope boundaries

No solar-specific education substitution is listed in the Board’s current contractor materials.

Testing Requirements

Testing provider or authority: Prov administers Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors examinations beginning July 1, 2026.. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:

  • Tennessee Business and Law examination — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score: confirm in the current candidate bulletin

Examination fee: Confirm the current Business and Law examination fee and scheduling with the Board or Prov.

Retake policy: Confirm current retake procedures with the examination provider.

Insurance, Bonds, and Project Requirements

No statewide contractor-license bond applies to the local or scope-specific path described here. A city, county, permit authority, public owner, or project contract may still require a bond, so confirm the actual project requirements before bidding.

General liability

General liability insurance is required in an amount based on the monetary limit assigned to the contractor license; the Board does not publish one universal $100,000 minimum for solar contractors.

Workers' compensation

Construction employers with one or more employees must obtain workers’ compensation coverage for those employees. Provide proof of exemption when applicable.

Financial or filing requirements

A reviewed financial statement is required for limits of $3 million or less and an audited statement for higher limits. The Board calculates a monetary limit using 10 times the lesser of working capital or net worth, plus required experience.

State and Local Fees

FeeAmount
Application or registration$250
Initial credential or registration$250
Renewal (every 2 years)$200

To budget for the applicable registration, permits, insurance, and project requirements, open the cost calculator preloaded for Tennessee solar.

Renewal and Ongoing Compliance

The Tennessee Contractor License — S-Solar Panel Installation / CE Electrical Work must be renewed every 2 years. The fee to renew is presently $200. Confirm the renewal deadline, financial statement, and insurance documentation in the Board’s current renewal process.

Continuing education: The Board’s current contractor page does not list a general continuing-education requirement for contractor renewal.

Downloadable Asset

2026 Tennessee Solar Compliance Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the state, local, and project checks.

Download the PDF roadmap →

Out-of-State Credentials and Local Recognition

Tennessee has no single statewide credential for this path to transfer through NASCLA. An authority may consider an outside license, examination, or experience record only under its own current rules.

Reciprocal StateAccepted ExamConditions
No formal bilateral reciprocity agreements identified.

Tennessee’s reciprocity and NASCLA provisions concern trade-exam waivers. S-Solar Panel Installation does not require a trade exam in the current classification outline, and an out-of-state license cannot be used to operate in Tennessee.

Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Solar license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.

Solar Licensing in Neighboring States

Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Tennessee's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before bidding or beginning work:

Step-by-Step Compliance Roadmap

  1. Map the project scope. Use S-Solar Panel Installation for the specialty scope and determine whether photovoltaic electrical work requires a CE electrical classification or another licensed electrical contractor.
  2. Confirm that the contractor-license threshold applies. A contractor license is generally required before bidding or contracting on a $25,000-or-more project, including materials and labor.
  3. Prepare the financial statement and reference. Submit a reviewed or audited financial statement in the exact business name and a reference from a qualifying client, employer, or code official.
  4. Pass Business and Law. New contractor applicants must pass the Tennessee Business and Law examination; the current specialty outline does not require a solar trade exam.
  5. Apply online and provide insurance records. The initial contractor application fee is $250. Liability coverage is tied to the monetary limit, and workers’ compensation proof or an exemption is required.
  6. Obtain project permits from the proper authority. Tennessee directs contractors to contact local city/county permit offices. Electrical jurisdiction and permits vary by location.
  7. Renew on time. Contractor renewal is $200; confirm the date and required financial/insurance updates in the Board’s renewal system.

Pre-Work Checklist

Before bidding or beginning work, confirm each item below with the authorities that govern the project location and scope:

Common Compliance Mistakes

The issues below are the most likely to create an unlicensed-work, registration, permit, or scope problem for Tennessee Solar work, based on the official sources cited on this page.

Treating solar as a BC-A trade classification

The current outline lists S-Solar Panel Installation as a specialty, not a BC-A Solar Energy classification.

Assuming the solar specialty covers all electrical work

Photovoltaic electrical work is within the CE electrical contracting framework; establish the appropriate licensed scope before bidding.

Using a nonexistent solar trade exam requirement

The current specialty outline says specialties do not require a trade exam; new applicants still need Business and Law.

Ignoring the project’s full cost

The $25,000 contractor-license threshold includes materials and labor and applies before bidding or negotiating a price.

Assuming statewide permits replace local permits

The Board directs contractors to local city and county permit offices, and electrical jurisdiction varies by location.

Official References and Preparation Materials

The list below collects the board's cited references and the materials applicants typically study from. CLR is not paid to recommend any of them.

  • Tennessee contractor classification outline — Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors. Official classification and trade-exam requirements.
  • Tennessee contractor licensing requirements — Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors. Financial statement, monetary limit, reference, insurance, application, and business-license guidance.

Other Tennessee Trade Licenses

CLR maintains guides for additional Tennessee trades; the published ones are listed here:

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Tennessee have a solar contractor classification?

Yes. The Tennessee contractor classification outline lists S-Solar Panel Installation as a specialty classification.

Is a Tennessee contractor license required for a solar project?

A contractor license is generally required before bidding or contracting when the total project cost is $25,000 or more, including materials and labor. Confirm exemptions and the complete scope with the Board.

Is there a Tennessee solar trade exam?

No trade exam is listed for S-Solar Panel Installation. New contractor applicants still must pass the Tennessee Business and Law examination.

Does a solar-panel specialty cover photovoltaic wiring?

Electrical work falls under the Electrical (CE) classification. The Board states that electrical prime and subcontractors must be licensed as contractors for electrical work; confirm the team’s classification and permit jurisdiction.

Does Tennessee require workers’ compensation for solar contractors?

Construction employers with one or more employees must secure coverage for those employees. The Board also requires proof of exemption where applicable.

Primary Sources

Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.

  1. Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors — Contractor license
  2. Tennessee contractor classification outline
  3. Tennessee contractor business resources
  4. Tennessee contractor fees
  5. Tennessee construction workers’ compensation

Verified 2026-09-04  · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03

Report a correction to this guide

Corrections and presentation updates
  • : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
  • : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
  • : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.