Minnesota Electrician License Requirements (2026)
By Gabriel Giner, Editor · Source checked 2026-09-04
Minnesota separates the personal electrician licenses from the business that contracts for electrical work. An individual may work as a DLI registered unlicensed electrician only under the required supervision, then qualify for a Class A journeyworker and, if eligible, a Class A master electrician license. A business that contracts to perform electrical work needs its own electrical-contractor license and an active master electrician as its responsible licensed individual. A general contractor or construction manager that subcontracts electrical work to a licensed electrical contractor does not need an electrical-contractor license merely for that subcontract. The state credential does not replace electrical permits or project inspections.
Regulatory Body
Authority over this credential rests with Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry — Electrical Inspections (DLI), which issues and polices it under Minn. Stat. §§ 326B.31-.399, especially § 326B.33. DLI licenses individual electricians and electrical-contractor businesses statewide. DLI or the local authority having jurisdiction administers permits and inspections for particular projects.
- Official portal: https://dli.mn.gov/workers/electrician-or-electrical-installer/electrical-licensing-basics
Eligibility Requirements
Applicants must be at least 17 years old. Applicants must provide a Social Security Number. DLI’s personal-license page does not state a Minnesota-residency condition. Use DLI’s current business application for entity, service-of-process, and owner-disclosure requirements.
Good moral character
Applicants and licensees must meet DLI’s current application, tax-identification, and disciplinary requirements.
Background investigation
DLI’s published electrical basics do not identify a statewide fingerprint condition. Complete the current personal or contractor application and required business-owner disclosures.
Experience and Education
At least 4 years of A Class A journeyworker needs a minimum of 48 months of acceptable experience, including at least 24 months wiring for and installing electrical wiring, apparatus, and equipment. A Class A master has a 60-month minimum under DLI’s experience rule; DLI also identifies degree, one-year-journeyworker, and five-year planning/laying-out/supervision/installing routes to the master examination. has to be evidenced and confirmed. Retain payroll, tax, project, or supervisor records, since the board may audit the experience claimed.
Accepted proof of experience or eligibility
- DLI electrical work-experience verification forms
- Employer and supervision records for Minnesota work
- Approved education documentation when claiming allowed credit
- Current out-of-state license documentation when using reciprocity
Education substitution
Successful completion of a DLI-approved two-year post-high-school electrical course can receive at most one year of experience credit for a Class A journeyworker. DLI’s master page separately identifies an accredited electrical-engineering degree route.
Exam Requirements
Testing provider or authority: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. The following examination requirements cover the pathways described in this guide; follow each part's classification, waiver, and local-scope conditions. Unpublished format details do not remove an examination requirement:
- DLI Class A Journeyworker or Class A Master Electrician written examination — question count: confirm with the authority, timing: confirm with the authority, passing score: confirm in the current candidate bulletin
Examination fee: $50 DLI personal-license examination application fee. The individual license fee is due after passing; the contractor business-license fee is separate.
Retake policy: Use DLI’s current examination instructions and application process for a retest; DLI’s current licensing page does not state a general retest interval.
Insurance and Bonds
A $25,000 surety bond, in the form prescribed by the DLI, must be posted as a condition of licensure.
General liability
An electrical contractor must carry at least $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate, and $50,000 property-damage coverage, with the policy coverage and certificate DLI requires.
Workers' compensation
A contractor must provide DLI’s workers’ compensation compliance documentation and maintain coverage when required by Minnesota law.
Additional financial requirements
The electrical-contractor license also requires a $25,000 surety bond on DLI’s approved form, issued by a corporate surety licensed to do business in Minnesota.
Fee Schedule
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $50 |
| Initial license | $188 |
| Renewal (every 2 years) | $188 |
To turn these board fees into a realistic year-one budget — bond premium, liability insurance, and exam prep included — open the cost calculator preloaded for Minnesota electrician.
Renewal and Continuing Education
The Minnesota Master Electrician and Electrical Contractor License runs on a 2 years renewal cycle. The current renewal fee is $188. Journeyworker licenses renew every two years from issue; master licenses expire at the end of February in odd-numbered years; electrical-contractor licenses expire at the end of February in even-numbered years. The contractor initial and renewal fee is $188.
Continuing education: Journeyworker and master electricians complete 16 hours of DLI-approved continuing education, at least 12 hours on the National Electrical Code. Registered unlicensed electricians renew annually with two hours of CE and a $19 renewal fee.
Downloadable Asset
2026 Minnesota Electrician License Roadmap (PDF) — a printable step-by-step checklist for the application process.
Download the PDF roadmap →Reciprocity
For this classification, Minnesota does not recognize the NASCLA Accredited Examination.
| Reciprocal State | Accepted Exam | Conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Alaska | Class A journeyworker only | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| Arkansas | Class A journeyworker only | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| Colorado | Class A journeyworker only | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| Iowa | Class A journeyworker or master | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| Montana | Class A journeyworker only | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| Nebraska | Class A journeyworker or master | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| North Dakota | Class A journeyworker or master | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| South Dakota | Class A journeyworker or master | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
| Wyoming | Class A journeyworker only | Comparable state-exam license, held at least one year and in good standing, can qualify for DLI examination waiver. |
Reciprocity is for individual Class A licenses, not electrical-contractor businesses. Applicants must meet DLI’s no-failed-equivalent-exam, state-exam, one-year, current-good-standing, application, and $50-fee conditions.
Weighing more than one jurisdiction? The national hub compares published Electrician license requirements by state — exam, bond, fee, and experience thresholds side by side.
Electrician Licensing in Neighboring States
Contractors working near a state line, or weighing where to qualify first, should compare Minnesota's requirements against the bordering jurisdictions before committing to an application:
- Iowa Electrician License Requirements — Iowa Class A Master Electrician License
- North Dakota Electrician License Requirements — North Dakota Master, Journeyman, Class B, and Power Limited Electrician Licenses
- South Dakota Electrician License Requirements — South Dakota Electrical Contractor, Class B, and Journeyman Electrician
- Wisconsin Electrician License Requirements — Wisconsin Master Electrician and Electrical Contractor
Step-by-Step Application Roadmap
- Register before doing unlicensed electrical work. At age 17 or older, register as a DLI registered unlicensed electrician, work for a licensed electrical contractor or registered electrical employer, and remain directly supervised by a journeyworker or master employed by the same employer.
- Document the experience for a Class A journeyworker. DLI requires 48 months total, including 24 months of wiring/installing work. Proper registration or licensure is required for Minnesota experience credit after January 1, 2009.
- Apply for and pass the journeyworker exam. Submit DLI’s $50 personal-license examination application after the Department accepts the experience documentation.
- Qualify for and pass the master exam. Use the applicable master route: electrical-engineering degree, one year as a journeyworker, or five years of specified electrical planning, layout, supervision, and installation experience.
- Appoint a responsible master for the business. The active master must be an eligible owner, officer, member, or actively engaged W-2 managing employee; the individual may be responsible for only one electrical contractor or employer.
- File contractor documents and pay DLI. Submit owner disclosures, DLI-form insurance and workers’ compensation documentation, a $25,000 surety bond, and the $188 contractor fee.
- Obtain electrical permits and inspections. The contractor obtains permits at or before the start of electrical work and calls for required inspections. Confirm the responsible DLI or local authority for the project.
Application Checklist
Before submitting to DLI, the applicant should have each of the following ready:
Progress is saved in this browser, so you can return to this checklist while your application is in flight.
Common Filing Mistakes
The errors below are the ones that most frequently cost Minnesota Electrician applicants time, drawn from the cited board guidance.
Counting unregistered Minnesota work
DLI does not grant Minnesota experience credit after January 1, 2009, unless the worker was registered with or licensed by DLI.
Using a supervisor from another company
The supervising electrician and unlicensed worker must be employed by the same licensed contractor or registered employer; one licensed electrician may supervise no more than two unlicensed individuals.
Treating the contractor license as a personal license
The contractor license authorizes the business to contract; it does not qualify its holder to perform or supervise electrical work.
Letting the responsible master leave without action
Notify DLI within 15 days after losing the responsible licensed individual and follow the statutory replacement process.
Skipping project permits
The electrical-contractor license does not replace permits or required inspections. Obtain the permit at or before the work begins.
Study and Reference Materials
These materials are drawn from the regulator's own citations and the references applicants commonly use to prepare. CLR receives no compensation for listing them.
- Minnesota Electrical Licensing Basics — Minnesota DLI. Personal-license paths, registration, current fees, renewals, and supervision.
- Minn. R. 3800.3520 — Minnesota Revisor of Statutes. Class A experience categories, minimums, and allowed education credit.
- Minn. Stat. § 326B.33 — Minnesota Revisor of Statutes. Electrical-contractor, responsible-licensed-individual, duration, and reciprocity rules.
Other Minnesota Trade Licenses
CLR maintains guides for additional Minnesota trades; the published ones are listed here:
- Minnesota General Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Plumber License Requirements
- Minnesota HVAC Technician License Requirements
- Minnesota Roofing Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Painting Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Landscaping Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Masonry Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Concrete Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Carpentry Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Solar Installer License Requirements
- Minnesota Low-Voltage Technician License Requirements
- Minnesota Fire Sprinkler Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Home Inspector License Requirements
- Minnesota Pool Contractor License Requirements
- Minnesota Handyman License Requirements
- Minnesota Pest Control License Requirements
- Minnesota Septic Contractor License Requirements
Frequently Asked Questions
Does an electrical contractor need a master electrician?
Yes. The business must designate an active master electrician as its responsible licensed individual. The contractor license does not itself authorize a person to perform or supervise electrical work.
How much experience is needed for a Minnesota Class A journeyworker?
DLI requires 48 months of acceptable experience, including at least 24 months wiring for and installing electrical wiring, apparatus, and equipment.
What insurance and bond does a Minnesota electrical contractor need?
The business needs a $25,000 surety bond and liability coverage of at least $100,000 per occurrence, $300,000 aggregate, and $50,000 property damage, plus workers’ compensation compliance documentation.
Can a general contractor hire an electrical subcontractor without an electrical-contractor license?
Yes. DLI says a general contractor or construction-management firm that contracts with licensed electrical subcontractors does not need its own electrical-contractor license for that work.
Which states receive Minnesota electrical reciprocity?
DLI lists Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming for Class A journeyworker reciprocity. Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota also appear on DLI’s Class A master list.
Primary Sources
Regulatory requirements on this page are drawn from the official board, statute, and exam-provider materials listed below.
- Minnesota DLI — electrical licensing basics
- Minnesota DLI — electrical contractor licensing basics
- Minnesota DLI — electrical license experience requirements
- Minnesota DLI — electrical license reciprocity
- Minn. Stat. § 326B.33 — electrical licenses and contractors
- Minn. R. 3800.3520 — electrical examination and experience requirements
Verified 2026-09-04 · Next scheduled review 2026-12-03
Report a correction to this guide
Corrections and presentation updates
- : Corrected examination detection when format details are unpublished and updated the summary layout and requirements score. Source-check dates are unchanged.
- : Shared template updated to distinguish unspecified eligibility requirements, retain cost qualifications, and use consistent headings. Source-check dates are unchanged by presentation updates.
- : Local-only guides now use a compliance-focused structure and terminology instead of implying a statewide license application. Source-check dates are unchanged by this presentation update.
